New user dumb question... Preview on TV at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 9th, 2004, 10:11 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario. Canada
Posts: 21
New user dumb question... Preview on TV

Hi there;

This is likely a dumb question but I am new at this so please forgive me.

I have a video card on my computer with a TV out jack, and I'm wondering how you preview your video editing projects on a TV monitor. Do you simply play the clip on your monitor and it also displays on the TV connected to the TV out jack or is there a setting inside the NLE software that outputs the cideo to a TV?

Also, If I have a VCR connected to the TV out jacks, can I record a rendered video projet directly to VHS or do I need additonal hardware to do so properly?

Any tips tricks or advice is greatly appreciated. I am in the process of setting up a computer and TV to do my first edit projects and I'm full of dumb questions!

Many Thanks;
Eric
Ottawa, Canada
Eric Gutknecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2004, 10:24 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
What NLE?

Generally speaking, most NLE's send the signal via Firewire for external preview. Some NLE's may support you video card.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2004, 10:57 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario. Canada
Posts: 21
Its either going to be Adobe Premier Pro or Vegas 4.0.

I did some searches on the site and discovered that perhaps my best option is a breakout box (ADVC 100 etc). I just thought that my video card (NVidea GeForce 5200) should already be able to handle this given that it has S-VHS and RCA outputs. I'm likely missing something here...

Eric
Eric Gutknecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2004, 11:42 AM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If you use Vegas, you need to go out the firewire port to a convertor to a TV. This will give you a TRUE representation as to what the final output will look like.

I know Premiere also uses firewire for preview. However, I believe it does also offer the TV port on some cards.

I'm leary of using a card's output for checking details. I prefer firewire as that is how the video will be output and will not have extra hardware altering my video.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2004, 03:50 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
What kind of camcorder do you have? Some convert from DV to analog on the fly. Sony calls this analog-digital passthrough and all but their low end models have em. A lot of other cameras have this feature too now.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2004, 04:19 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario. Canada
Posts: 21
I have a Canon GL2 camera. I thnk I know what your getting at. I gather I can use firewire in to the camera and then use analog out to a TV to do this. I assume at that point though that I simply replicate the desktop on my monitor out to a TV rather than just get the preview window right?

Eric
Eric Gutknecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2004, 04:29 PM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You will get exactly what you will print to tape by previewing through the firewire.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2004, 09:36 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Ok then just hook up your camera as you've figured out. Both premiere pro and vegas will preview out through firewire. It's at a performance hit though, but that's ok because you can turn it off when you don't need it.

In Vegas you hit the TV button.
In Premiere Pro you have to mess around with the settings. It's close to the video display.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2004, 06:05 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 27
I am running Premiere 6.0 and trying to get the firewire preview to work. I can't find these setting however.
The manuals / help have no inforrmation either. Anyone successful with this?
Anthony Claudia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2004, 12:51 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Glendale
Posts: 54
You have to hook up the video out of your video card to the tv. And next go to display property. Right click the desktop and go to display properties then settings. Enable your video cards video out.
This depends on the type of your video card. Because some video card have their own utilities to change such things as color,resolution or to enable the video out component of the video card.
For recording to a vcr? It's fine too but I find it of low quality. It is better to get a firewire card if you donot have one to export the video to a camera or a deck.
Manuel Albarracin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2004, 07:06 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 27
I am trying to go firewire>camera>t.v.

I think the problem is with Premeire 6.0. There does not seem to be an option to preview via firewire. I may have to move to Pro to get this functionality.
Anthony Claudia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2004, 01:31 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Premiere 6 can do it. Read the manual for it, and read the manual for your camera (you need to toggle which way the DV-analog conversion is going!).

I'd move to PPro or Vegas anyways. Premiere 6 is frustrating, especially without the patches.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2004, 07:27 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 27
I moved to PPro, and it works like a charm. Thanks for the suggestion.

I have a related question. Does using your camera in this capacity create unecessary wear and tear. In other words, will I be shortening the life span of my camera by using it as a firewire adapter to my monitor. Is it advisable to purchase a second device to dedicate to this task, such as an inexpenisve cam, or an actual adapter?
Anthony Claudia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2004, 08:25 AM   #14
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
<<<-- Originally posted by Anthony Claudia : Does using your camera in this capacity create unecessary wear and tear. In other words, will I be shortening the life span of my camera by using it as a firewire adapter to my monitor. Is it advisable to purchase a second device to dedicate to this task, such as an inexpenisve cam, or an actual adapter? -->>>

In some ways yes and in other ways no. Obviously, the transport/heads will not receive any additional wear and tear because they are not being used. However, the camera IS powered up and running.

I definitely would purchase something else to go in-between. There are several firewire to analog convertors available. You might also want to consider using a DECK for this purpose. The deck would also let you capture and PTT without putting additional wear and tear on the camera too.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2004, 09:16 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 27
Thanks for the information.

What are some of the things I should consider when shopping for a new Deck (aside from budget)? I am sure there are some brands to stay away from etc.
Anthony Claudia is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:23 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network