the only uncompression option i have is under video for windows at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 11th, 2004, 08:06 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Augusta georgia 15min. from Aiken S.Carolina and 2 hours from Atlanta
Posts: 105
the only uncompression option i have is under video for windows

is the uncompression that is under video for windows exactly what it says, no compression? i want to send it to premiere after effects, premiere again, cleaner, and then to dvd movie factory.

so would this video for windows uncompression be my best option?
Patrick Falls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2004, 09:03 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Can you please word it a little bit better?

As I understand it you will be capturing in premiere, adding effects in after effects and then editing again in premiere, then exporting to cleaner and DVD movie factory to create a DVD.

The avi setting no compression is what it says, however the footage is already compressed when you import it into your computer. There might be a slight degrade when exporting out a number of times but probably will not be that noticeable.

I guess exporting to cleaner is to create a file for the web or an MPEG for your DVD? these will be compressed and you might notice more of a degradition with these files.

I think thats right?

Ed
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2004, 09:29 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Augusta georgia 15min. from Aiken S.Carolina and 2 hours from Atlanta
Posts: 105
thanks

you hit it on the head with the way i wanted to process my footage. this no compression is only available under avi. which is huge. can i import better codecs into vegas video to render lossless quality but smaller file sizes? i here so much about quicktime and sorenson 3's codecs. can i some how use these in vegas. i have quicktime pro 6.
Patrick Falls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2004, 09:44 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Which operating system are you using? Because AVI should
have a couple of codecs at least. Keep in mind that DV is not
under there and you usually must select DV AVI instead of plain
AVI.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2004, 01:50 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Augusta georgia 15min. from Aiken S.Carolina and 2 hours from Atlanta
Posts: 105
sorry for the late response

i'm using windows xp on my pc. you are right i don't see any option for dv avi.
Patrick Falls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2004, 04:43 AM   #6
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I'd say something is seriously wrong or you are not doing
something right. Again, please explain in a very detailed way
what you are doing, exactly!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2004, 06:31 AM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Patrick,

What version of Premiere are you using? The DV avi option should be in the drop down menu list where it says AVI - in settings.

Ed
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2004, 07:37 AM   #8
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
From version 6 (or 5.6???) and up.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2004, 09:53 AM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
I believe you only get the DV avi option from V6

Ed
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2004, 11:02 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Augusta georgia 15min. from Aiken S.Carolina and 2 hours from Atlanta
Posts: 105
this is embarrassing

when i was saying i wanted to send it to premiere i meant from vegas video. that is the program where i can't find the dv avi option. i really apologize for not being clear enough. i often find myself getting in a tight squeeze, running to the forum for help and then dashing back to the project.
Patrick Falls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2004, 06:43 AM   #11
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
First make sure that the project settings are setup for
DV. Go to File -> Properties -> Video tab -> Pixel Aspect Ratio
and make sure it says either (NTSC DV) or (PAL DV).

Now if you want to export in DV go to File -> Render As and
in the following dialog box select Video for Windows (*.avi)
for the Save as type. Then from template select NTSC DV or
PAL DV. If you click Custom you can change options like
Video rendering quality (defaults to Good which I would set
to Best personally) as well as progressive (under the tab
Video and then Field order)
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network