please help at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 12th, 2004, 12:48 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: TORONTO
Posts: 115
please help

Hi guys it might be a little off topic. I have dual p3 pc with a 18gb hard drives , internal scsi . i have lot of footage saved on them but what I did was changed my op sys to xp from win 2000. now xp doesnt recognise my hard drives . it shows only the c: and the external firewire d: my f: drive which was the 4 18gb's strapped together doesnt even show up . if I go to disk management to look for them they are there and show up as disk1 disk2 disk3 and disk4. When i right click on them to change them to basic drive it tells me that" all the data will be lost" . I dont know what to do. Is thera way I can restrap them into one and save data . It is about 4 hours of footage and a few projects . PLease help!!!

Thanks
__________________
Kumar
Harish Kumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2004, 02:00 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Any, Where
Posts: 54
I had the exact same problem with my portable HD. Somebody please help with this...as I have some footage on my portable one too....
Ross Weinshenker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2004, 02:15 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
I'm NO expert but will try to help based on VERY limited experience messing with RAID 0 arrays.

I'll take a guess that the 4 data drives that made up your "F" drive were RAID 0 ("striped" across 2 or more physical drives to improve performance), either using Windows 2000 disk management or a separate RAID controller (either built onto your motherboard or an add-in card).

First, check BIOS settings (motherboard and/or add-in RAID card) to make sure RAID hasn't been disabled or changed. If that isn't the case...

If you used Win2K's built-in striping capability...
I would have thought that XP would have recognized the striping and preserved it. Since it apparently didn't, I think your best bet would be to uninstall XP and return to your Win2K config that worked. If you turn the drives into basic drives you WILL lose all data. If you can't uninstall XP, you probably need advice from someone more knowledgeable than me!

If the drives are striped as RAID 0 using a hardware RAID controller...
You need to set up the same controller (eg, Win2K, Promise, Adaptec, etc) to recognize the array correctly. If the correct controller is configured properly, you should be able to see your array WITHOUT destroying any data on the drives.

If you have RAID controller hardware, XP ought to see it. If not, perhaps a run through the New Hardware wizard or a physical uninstall/reinstall will help XP to recognize it so the striped data can be properly read across the array.

If it turns out you were using RAID 1 (redundancy) WITHOUT RAID 0 (striping), you ought to be able to salvage your data, since the same bits are saved on more than one of the drives.

I've had a drive on a RAID 0 go flakey on me, and even though I didn't have any important data on the array, I feel your pain. Best o' luck!
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2004, 02:27 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: TORONTO
Posts: 115
thanks a million pete ill try what you told me to and see what happens and will keep you posted
thanks again
__________________
Kumar
Harish Kumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2004, 02:30 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: TORONTO
Posts: 115
but if i format the hard drive and reinstall win2k.....i mean the c: drive then would it automatically pick up the raid ?????

thanks again
__________________
Kumar
Harish Kumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2004, 02:33 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: TORONTO
Posts: 115
sorry me again

i had to format the c: drive to install xp ...it wasnt upgrade ..but a clean install...can i do the same ...format c: and reinstall win2k
thanks
__________________
Kumar
Harish Kumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2004, 07:44 PM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Yeah, if it was a clean install, there's no going back; only starting over!

So, before going to all the bother of wiping the C: drive and reinstalling OS, do everything possible to get XP to see the array.

How was the array set up...striping using Disk Manager or with RAID hardware like Promise, etc? What type of RAID (0, 1, 0+1) was it? Whatever hardware allowed you to have the array in the first place must still be there.

Also, if you haven't already done so, definitely check out manufacterers' web sites (especially message boards for the computer or motherboard, and RAID card, if any) or do an internet search on keywords...I'm NO expert, so there may be a painless solution out there that I don't know to give you. I can't do an extensive search myself tonight, but I just did a quick Yahoo search and keyworded "XP" and "fault-tolerant" and got this MS page that MIGHT be helpful:

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=303246

I guess if all else fails, reinstalling Win2k makes sense. If Win2k sees the array after reinstalling, you at least can back up your data before proceeding with a full system wipe!

Cheers,
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2004, 10:20 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: TORONTO
Posts: 115
bingo

thanks guys , i got all my data back
I did not touch any hardware , what I did was formatted c: and reinstalled win2k
since all the array was created with win2k with the existing ocntroller so when I re installed win2k after formatting my c: i could see all the f: drive back in the same position as it was before ....all I did was copy all the data on the firewire drive i have for 160 gb and reinstalled xp after formatting c: again. now in xp after installing premiere i can read and play all my files as before...:)))

thanks guys i appreciate all the help
__________________
Kumar
Harish Kumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2004, 10:22 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: TORONTO
Posts: 115
thanks pete , thanks a million again

you were great help

thanks again
__________________
Kumar
Harish Kumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2004, 11:20 AM   #10
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
That's great...it would have been really terrible to lose all your data. Happy editing!
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is online now   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:52 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network