Did I get on the wrong Bus? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 13th, 2004, 06:44 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Winnsboro, SC
Posts: 96
Did I get on the wrong Bus?

I am a "Nascar" fan. I am loyal to a fault. I have only been using Adobe products for about 2 years. I started in Primere 6.0 and have been using PP for since about 2 months after it's release. I used 6.5 as well. While using 6.5 I also used TMPGEnc to encode my stuff so that it looked like the 2 folders. One VIDEO_TS the other AUDIO_TS. Then burn it to a DVD with Nero. Now, I can burn small projects to a DVD w/ PP but of corase they are much like a VCR tape. You can only put it in and watch. No navigation. I am trying to use Encore but keep getting the "Sorry, An abnormal condiction has been detected" screen when I attempt to transcode it. So now I am back to simply burn the project out to a DVD. This project is 1hr 19 minutes long. After around 2.5 hrs of waiting, Adobe crashed. I mean hard too. No DVD. So I render it out and get 3 files. A Wav file. Good, I know what to do with that. A .m2v.mcses file. and a plane ole m2v file. I realize I am not the shrapest knife in the drawer but I can't get this files to work in anything BUT Encore. Did I mention the little problem I had with Encore?
I really need to get this project together and out the door and I know I have been rambling but I feel like I am being twisted in every direction. I need some help or advice or maybe a good vender for Vegas products.
__________________
"No matter how good she looks; somebody, somewhere is tried of putting up with her crap."

Randy Brazell
Barry Gilbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2004, 07:50 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,727
Maybe you can download the demo version of Vegas+DVD which I think works for about a month and get your project out within that time? And if you like it (Which I think you will after Premiere) buy it.

Aaron
__________________
My Website
Meat Free Media
Aaron Koolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2004, 08:50 PM   #3
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
The demo of Vegas+DVD doesn't expire. However, you cannot save, work with MPEG, or use AC3 in the demo. There are a few other limitations but, otherwise, is fully functional.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2004, 09:52 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,727
Edward, you cannot save in the demo? I was sure you could...
(Been a while though) Ahh well.

Aaron
__________________
My Website
Meat Free Media
Aaron Koolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2004, 10:21 PM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Nope. Saving is disabled.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2004, 01:58 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Seattle , WA
Posts: 184
Barry I would try the Adobe Encore Forum with this question. Should be a bit more experience with the program there. Let us know if it works out.

BTW Uninstalling/reinstalling Encore would probably be worth a try. That's work for me with other programs.

Cheers,
Brian
Brian Huey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2004, 05:27 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Winnsboro, SC
Posts: 96
<<<-- Originally posted by Brian Huey :
BTW Uninstalling/reinstalling Encore would probably be worth a try. That's work for me with other programs.

Cheers,
Brian -->>>

Thanks Brian,
Now that's something I haven't thought of. I will let you know.
__________________
"No matter how good she looks; somebody, somewhere is tried of putting up with her crap."

Randy Brazell
Barry Gilbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2004, 07:59 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Winnsboro, SC
Posts: 96
Just in case...

anyone reads this later and wonders about the problem.


It was the fact that "I" didn't have the Xp pro service pack installed. As soon as I did that, everything is working fine. Ya live, ya learn.

Thanks again for all the help guys!
__________________
"No matter how good she looks; somebody, somewhere is tried of putting up with her crap."

Randy Brazell
Barry Gilbert is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:58 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network