pixel aspect ratio again at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 14th, 2004, 11:15 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 32
pixel aspect ratio again

I capture two D1 PAL footage at 720 x 560 frame ratio (1.067 pixel aspect), what is the correct pixel count if I am going to insert a still image from a digicam which comes with square pixel. I tried 720 x 540 to maintain a 4:3 frame, but on preview monitor it is black framed.
Colin Sze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2004, 11:36 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 164
It depends how you are inserting the image. What NLE are you using?

A 768 x 576 square pixel image is exactly 4:3 in aspect - so if you create an image in Photoshop, this is the size to use.

I always fix the still image before importing it into my NLE - just adjust the image size in Photoshop to 720x576 (do not kepp the aspect ratio!) first (it will look squashed from side to side).

This way you aren't relying on the NLE to do maintain any aspect ratios...

Julian
Julian Luttrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2004, 12:06 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 842
For what it's worth, Photoshop CS now does non-square pixles.

It's been real helpful.
Bryan McCullough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2004, 12:36 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 32
Thanks Julian and Byran. Now I get it done.
I made a typo mistake in my thread; the D1 PAL resolution should be 720 x 576.
For anyone who cares, this is what I found:
I should not have sticked to 720 and divided it by 1.33 to get 540 (height), instead, you should time 576 by 1.33 to get 768 (width). That explains why my still does not fill the frame properly. I tried what Julian suggested to get a squeezed image (from 768 x 576 to 720 x 576) and bring it to Premere Pro. Suprisingly, this NLE correctly interprets the image as 1.067 pixel though I have not told it such. I also tried bringing an un-squashed still image at 768 x 576 to NLE, this time NLE interperts it as square pixel. Amazing .... both ways work fine !!
Byran, I do not know Photoshop CS works with non-square pixel. Mine is Photoshop 6.
Colin Sze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2004, 04:42 PM   #5
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Both ways should work in an NLE (720x540 or 768x576). BUT,
you should always go with the larger resolution so you don't
loose resolution. So yes, 768x576 is the size to use. NOT
720x576 (because the paintprogram cannot do pixel aspect
conversion and you will loose resolution if PPro has to do it with
only 720 pixels) or 720x540.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:49 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network