2 nle's on one pc at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 24th, 2004, 12:53 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2
2 nle's on one pc

I am running a RTX100 with Premiere 6.5 on a P4 2.4 and want to move up to a Pinnacle Edition Pro but I still have unfinished projects on the Matrox/Premiere and don't want to invest in a new PC aside from that I ocassionally rent out my studio to editors who know Premiere.
Is there any chance these two could co-exist and work ok on the same platform and how would I do it

Michael
__________________
mike
Michael Lixenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2004, 07:07 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
If you were to use the standard Pinnacle Edition, by Pro you mean the hardware supported version don't you, then you would probably be ok but two hardware cards, especially one being from Pinnacle is asking for problems. Pinnacle's cards are notorious for not playing well with others and need to be carefully matched to MBs, sound and graphics cards.
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2004, 02:22 AM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2
2 nle's on one pc

Thanks Adrian for the info
Is it then feasable to install just the edition program and input thru the Matrox brekout box or the 1394 on the Matrox card?
__________________
mike
Michael Lixenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2004, 06:05 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
If the Matrox card is OHCI compliant then Edition may be able to use it but no promises. Vegas doesn't recognise the DV500 in my machine and it's OHCI compliant supposedly.

To be totally honest I'd just stick with the Matrox card and Premiere. I have Vegas, Avid and Premiere 6.5 on my machine and keep coming back to Premiere because of the breakout box. Both Avid and Vegas have "RT" preview but it's only on my computer monitors.
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2004, 09:09 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Both Avid and Vegas have "RT" preview but it's only on my computer monitors.


Vegas will preview to an external monitor via firewire. This includes ALL transitions and effects.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2004, 10:48 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
You're right Edward but my system doesn't have a generic firewire card it has the DV500 which Vegas and Avid don't see as compatable. I imagine the same would happen with the Matrox card.
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2004, 11:47 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 152
AVID will also preview to an external monitor via firewire as well.

Since I don't have the money for a fancy NTSC monitor, I use my GL2, have it hooked up via firewire and the RCA jacks plugged into a decent 20" television set. AVID will put out the monitor window to the monitor. Unfortunately you have to turn off realtime effects to do this :-(

But if you render all your effects, you can output the video full resolution to the monitor.
__________________
John Lee

Levelse7en@gmail.com
John Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2004, 12:16 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
Yes John you're right too but again neither Avid or Vegas see the Pinnacle DV500 as a OHCI compatable card even though I can run my firewire scanner through it. Neither Avid or Vegas make use of the DV500 and I imagine the same thing would go for the Matrox card. Both the Matrox and Pinnacle cards are built to be standalone cards and the OHCI compatability is basically an afterthought. They are also optomised for Premiere/Edition which may also have something to do with Avid and Vegas not using them.
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:21 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network