platform interchangeability at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 26th, 2004, 10:41 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
platform interchangeability

I am working on a single processor mac, and wish to purchase avid-dvxpress, which as I know can run on both. The problem is that I want to do the work at home and then go with my lacie drive to an editing house and have it made proper(audio etc..) The thing is at the editing house it is running on a pc. Although I am using the same program avid tells me there will be a problem with the formatted external hard disk. There is this program called macopener made by dataviz. But will it work? does someone have any experience with this kind of issue? What problems will I run in to ? Its a lot of money to spend if it is not going to work the proper way...

greetings

David
__________________
D.Slingerland

director/cameraman

http://www.slingerlandproductions.nl
David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2004, 11:25 AM   #2
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
The drive swapping is not a feasible solution. Even with macopener, the PC formatted drive will not perform satisfactorily. PC emulators on Mac are too slow also.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2004, 11:30 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
So what should I do then if I want to continue a project done on a mac and needs to be finished on a PC
__________________
D.Slingerland

director/cameraman

http://www.slingerlandproductions.nl
David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2004, 11:53 AM   #4
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
I would get a laptop (Mac) and hook it up to a PC network for finishing. Transfer the files over the network. But transferring large files on a daily basis will be impractical because of time concerns.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2004, 12:16 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
that is not a feasable option for me as I own a desktop. What about EDL?
would that not at least let me keep everything but I just have to recapture (timeline and so on..)
__________________
D.Slingerland

director/cameraman

http://www.slingerlandproductions.nl
David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2004, 12:22 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 61
try this

see this thread on avid's forum

http://www.avid.com/community/forums...ml/002483.html
Steve Minnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2004, 12:45 PM   #7
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
David, the EDL route would work, but you'd be duplicating your efforts. Capture all the footage twice etc. Also the EDL does not work perfectly. Some effects may be missing and need to be recreated etc.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2004, 01:37 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
the link leads to a product from mediafour.com called 'macdrive' I dont know if it will work..But it suprises me that to programs, the same... should work so badly together on different platforms
__________________
D.Slingerland

director/cameraman

http://www.slingerlandproductions.nl
David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2004, 02:01 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
It did and I went to MacDrive itself, they told me they do not yet have a version ready for windows XP, because AVID uses 'striped' drives.
But I am thinking maybe if I format the drive as a windows/pc based drive, maybe my mac can see the drive and I can use it. It must be possible because lately I have been testing a product from FireStore (a portable drive) and my mac could see the omfi files on that drive but so must a pc also see those files.
__________________
D.Slingerland

director/cameraman

http://www.slingerlandproductions.nl
David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2004, 02:29 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
But how do I format my external lacie drive to be a Fat32? can I do that on a mac or does that need to be done on a pc? are there any problems I need to be aware of?
__________________
D.Slingerland

director/cameraman

http://www.slingerlandproductions.nl
David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2004, 03:18 AM   #11
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Keep in mind that formatting a drive will erase any data on it!
I'm not sure if the Mac can do a FAT32 format, a PC can, ofcourse.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2004, 06:42 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
I dont have much experience with pc. How does
one reformat a drive on a pc? I dont think you can do this kind of format on a mac
__________________
D.Slingerland

director/cameraman

http://www.slingerlandproductions.nl
David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 29th, 2004, 06:06 PM   #13
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
On a PC you right-click on the drive (control + click on Mac I believe)
and choose format. That's all there is to it.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network