Are most DV camcorders recognized by today's Windows XP OS? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 1st, 2004, 01:15 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 354
Are most DV camcorders recognized by today's Windows XP OS?

My question is depending on Windows XP Home or windows XP Professional, are most DV/digital camcorders recognized by the operating system today? What factors affect this? I am thinking about maybe perhaps the revision of the camcorder itself (newer production units, say like a camera that came out in 1999 before WinXP came out and you buy one that came out in 2002 maybe), Windows XP service packs, IEEE 1394 port revisions (based on revision of chipset/motherboard you have perhaps?)
__________________
"Everyone has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film."
David Ho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2004, 02:40 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wakefield.West Yorkshire.
Posts: 45
Hi
I have a Panasonic DA1, circa 1999, its recognised by XP home & XP Professional, in 3 different machines, all of which have had various "upgrades" graphics cards etc.

No problems so far apart from the fact it was never manufactured dv in, and is used as a playback deck mostly.
Captures from it are RT.X100 or Pyro firewire.

Best Wishes.

Peter.
Peter Higginbottom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2004, 10:18 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87
David,

My GL2 was recognized immediately via Firewire by XP Pro with no problems at all.
__________________
Rob Zeigler
http://www.robzeigler.com
Rob Zeigler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2004, 04:31 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Basically it doesn't matter unless you want your OS to do
something with you camera (can't think of why you would want
or need that).

An NLE talks directly with the camera bascially. The OS is just
there to provide support for this. So it must recognize your
firewire card and to get best results make sure the card is OHCI
compliant (I think almost any simple firewire card is these days).

The question should be if your NLE can work with the camera.
I've not heard of much problems in that regard.

Keep in mind that most NLE's have "problems" with the new
24p or HDV camera's though.

The newer OSes will let you know that you plugged in a DV
camera. The older ones will not, but should work just as fine.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2004, 09:18 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 354
"Basically it doesn't matter unless you want your OS to do
something with you camera (can't think of why you would want
or need that)."

Rob, whatcha mean when you say "want your OS to do something with the camera" ?
__________________
"Everyone has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film."
David Ho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2004, 03:55 PM   #6
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Well, why do you want your OS to recognize your camera? I'm
thinking you want your NLE to recognize it.

The only reason you want your OS to recognize is if you want
your OS to do something with it. Perhaps see the memory card
for example if it has that (not saying this will work). I won't know
what other thing you would want to do with it. I was merely
trying to show how it works.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2004, 11:17 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Miller Place, NY
Posts: 820
Once you plug in and turn on your camera, you can go into "My Computer" and see the icon for it. Double-click, and voila! Capture still images from tape, or live from the camera, without opening your NLE software.

A little timesaver if you just want one measly shot, no?
Robert Martens is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network