4:2:2 via Firewire ?? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 22nd, 2004, 04:01 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Posts: 548
4:2:2 via Firewire ??

So, I'm really comfortable with DV for private and commercial work, and have really been building up my compositing and CGI skills and toolset. Now, I would like to be able to expand into (or at least offer) broadcast-grade post production (compositing, CGI, etc.) services. My big concern, though, is being able to support raw, broadcast grade media. T

There are plenty of places where I could rent a deck for playback and recording, but I guess my concern is PC capture and output. Renting outboard gear on a per-job basis should be no problem, but I don't think the logistics of renting using and returning a quality capture board are so strait forward.

So...I'm wondering if I can build on my existing DV based infrastructure and pipeline at all for SD broadcast grade work.

Are there DV based cameras/decks/interfaces that support SD broadcast quality 4:2:2 compression instead of 4:1:1 that can still interface with a PC via firewire ? Maybe DVCPRO or DVCAM ?

My naive hope is that there exists some DV based, firewire enabled gear, that could accept a feed from a Beta-based or other broadcast deck via component connections, and pipe that to a PC with 4:2:2 compression as well as output back via the same basic path. This way, I could continue to use my existing Firewire capture/output gear, and just rent whatever deck I need to support a given job.

Does anything like this exist, or am I looking at having to build out a whole new post production infrastructure (capture/output card & software) to effectively support SD?

Thanks in advance.
Have fun.
Nick Jushchyshyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2004, 04:07 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Redding, California
Posts: 114
Try looking into Avid's Mojo setup - uncompressed video via firewire.
Jesse Rosten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2004, 04:08 PM   #3
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
FireWire is just the pipeline, it can handle the data rate for 4:2:2 or even uncompressed formats. You'll need hardware and software to make it happen. Are you Mac or PC based?
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2004, 05:16 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Posts: 548
Thanks guys.
I'm on PC.
Combustion for the video compositing.
Whole library of tools for CGI.

I guess I could go with a capture baord to go with Combustion for input/output, but my thought was that, perhaps, for not a whole lot more than a good capture board there may be a firewire enabled deck that could do the job and I could expand the utility of that investment instead of "just" getting a card.

At the same time, I'd like to "dodge" investing an whole editing system. At least for now.

Thanks again.
Have fun.
Nick Jushchyshyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2004, 06:22 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
A lot of the 'big' video is transfered over SDI which can move video data at 4X normal speed.

I 'think' Sony has some upper end decks that have all of the interface options. However, I don't think Sony supports DVCPro so it may take a JVC or Panasonic deck to encompass all formats.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2004, 08:20 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Beijing, China
Posts: 30
Does AJA's Io work with PCs? That supports uncompressed video with Firewire 400, SDI inputs and serial control. Their web site only mentions Macs, but I wonder if you can connect it to a PC. I'd like to know for future possibilities.
Steve Nettleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2004, 01:36 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Posts: 548
I think BlackMagic just answered my prayers.
They seem to have lowered their prices in the last week or so and now a DeckLink SDI capture card can be had for under $300!

That pretty much wraps it up for me :)

Thanks for all the advices and ideas guys!
Have fun.
Nick Jushchyshyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2004, 01:46 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 43
Be aware that there is hard drive speed requirements that need to be met in order to smoothly playback uncompressed video files, and possibly even DVCPRO 50.

I don't think standard IDE drives can handle the 50mbps of dvcpro50. Has anyone done this before?

Eddie
Edward Natale is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network