MATROX Vs Canopus at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 24th, 2004, 10:26 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: BRUNEI
Posts: 108
MATROX Vs Canopus

Hi, everyone... i very new to this DV editing. Which is the best editing and capture card? MAtrox RTX100 pro or Canopus DVstorm 2? Any idea...

please advice me on this...
__________________
Andrew
Andrew Kiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2004, 03:53 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Hi Andrew,

Thatís a tough question which only in the end you can decide :)

I'm in the Matrox camp; they seem to offer decent reliable hardware, at great prices. I suggest you check their web site out for details.

http://www.matrox.com/video

I have heard that there were problems with Canopus working correctly with Premiere Pro, they might have sorted them out by now but I can't really remember.

http://www.canopus.com/Index.asp

I suggest that you get hands-on demos with both of them that way you can really see what they both can offer.

Please also check system specs to see whether your computer will be compatible

Cheers,

Ed
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2004, 08:47 AM   #3
Skyonic New York
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 614
based on using both systems i find matrox system is well ahead of its canopus counter part when using premiere pro, matrox has more features, is more intutive and more stable...

however after using both systems i choose to edit my dv on canopus edius system with dv storm card, edius is built by canopus to work with or without storm, the software is not bloated, it's fast , and great for my needs...currently getting twice the rt performance then premiere ever gave me...
Robert Mann Z. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2004, 10:33 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: BRUNEI
Posts: 108
Still Confuse???!!!

Thanks guys. Previously Been using Matrox RTmac, and less reliability due to frequent freeze on Final Cut Pro version 2. so currently looking for PC window base editing system for instance Adobe premiere pro with Canopus DVstrom 2.

I very interested to try out the Canopus DVstorm 2 , Am I making right move???? Any comment....
__________________
Andrew
Andrew Kiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2004, 03:55 AM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Andrew,

It looks like you have already made your mind up.

They both have there pros and cons, and I can only suggest that you get a demo before you buy.

I would also try a search, as this sort of topic has come up many times.

If you have any specific questions about the boards please post them.


All the best,

Ed
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2004, 08:54 AM   #6
Skyonic New York
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 614
Re: Still Confuse???!!!

<<<--
I very interested to try out the Canopus DVstorm 2 , Am I making right move???? Any comment.... -->>>

check out the very serious issues with canopus and ppro on the canopus forums, some users have no issues some have terrible issues, enough to worry me
Robert Mann Z. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2004, 12:06 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 436
Andrew - may I also suggest on the NLE front, that you give the Vegas demo a try. I was a devout premiere advocate until I got a spin at Vegas 4 not to mention its 24p support which Premiere Pro STILL doesn't offer. Vegas is a more powerful program in terms of crunching vid files - ie. it takes less processor power to do things premiere can't do real time, or not as well. Run a search and it may change your mind. Best of luck either way - oh and for the card stuff, I am running an ATI radeon 9600TX card which isn't really a capture card, but I've had great results....
Bryan Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2004, 08:22 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
As long as we are discussing alternatives, consider the Storm with Edius. Very fast and very stable but not a fully featured as PPRo. Yet. You can download a demo.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:34 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network