RS 232 Controller at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 26th, 2004, 09:10 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 116
RS 232 Controller

Is there a PC card out there that will control a RS-232 editing deck?

Thanks
__________________
Scott Osborne
Infinite Video Productions
Scott Osborne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2004, 05:35 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Hi Scott

I think the question really is will the software control your editing deck. Your computer should already have 2 RS232 com ports they are your standard serial connectors on your motherbord.

By editing deck I presume you mean something that has jog knobs on it so that you can shuttle through your timeline adding markers etc?

Please elaborate a bit more:

What is the make and model of the editing deck?

What software are you using with it?

etc.

Thanks,

Ed
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2004, 01:02 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 116
Ok....

I am using a JVC BR-622U

I am using it with Premiere 6.5 but I will be upgrading to PPro within the next week.
__________________
Scott Osborne
Infinite Video Productions
Scott Osborne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2004, 02:59 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Hi Scott i'm afraid I don't know the JVC BR-622U. Doing a search on google only brought 2 results saying that it is a S-VHS VTR.

Now i'm guessing that the RS232 port is for controling the deck via Premiere when capturing and exporting to tape (I could be wrong).

If this is the case you will probably need something like these guys sell:

http://www.thepipe.com/

However I do not see your model listed.

If I was you I would have a look at the instuction manual (thats if you still have it) to see if that will give you any more clues, otherwise I would get in contact with JVC. Or maybe if you wait for a while someone else might chime in with an answer.

Thanks,

Ed
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2004, 09:40 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 116
Thanks, Ed

Thats what I am looking for it supports the JVC RS 232 protocol. Its a liitle pricey but I think it will do the trick.

Thanks
__________________
Scott Osborne
Infinite Video Productions
Scott Osborne is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network