SD or HD? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 25th, 2009, 11:21 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: AJ, AZ
Posts: 14
SD or HD?

Here is my question. I have some SD and HD that will be going into the same project. I will be producing a dvd and also some of the footage will be going into a HD TV show. So when I edit should I capture everything in HD and upres the sd footage or work in SD and up res at the end for the HDTV? I am using cs4 and instant hd. I want my dvd to have the best possible quality but I am not sure I am ready to dive into blueray ( maybe later ).
__________________
http://skinnymoose.com/onstand/
Clint Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2009, 09:17 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
You can't really "upres" SD to HD. You can make it a bit "better" but it looks nothing like HD. If your final product was going to go out only in SD then downrezzing the HD would make sense, but as you need an HD option as well then you should capture everything as HD and edit in an HD timeline. If you first downres the HD stuff and then try to upres it back at the end, all you'll get is crappy uprezzed SD for the whole project.

Once the resolution is lost, it's gone forever.
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2009, 12:33 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: AJ, AZ
Posts: 14
Thanks,
I am going to start again in HD. I started editing in SD and the HD clips had a severely limited field of view. Some of my commentaries had decapitated speakers.
Now, when I go to render the HD to SD will it do the same thing?
Thanks again,
Clint
__________________
http://skinnymoose.com/onstand/
Clint Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2009, 05:31 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
DVD is SD by definition. To make is easy on yourself downrez the HDV material in camera and only edit DV AVI. If at a later stage you want BRD, then recapture HDV at HDV resolution and uprez the SD material, which will take a quality hit.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:22 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network