600 lines enough? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 3rd, 2004, 02:12 PM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 33
600 lines sucks!


I need external monitor for editing on Vegas (on my laptop).
Is 600 lines enought?
And 14'' is enought?

I found sony broadcast monitor (600 lines, 14'' for 450$ in B&H).


Voytek Stitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2004, 03:46 AM   #2
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660

Unless you are shooting HD 600 is more than enough. Most DV cameras will only resolve between 450-550. A standard TV is only 250-300ish depending on the maker so a 600 line Sony broadcast monitor is more than enough.
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:00 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network