Building Computer From Scratch - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 17th, 2004, 04:49 PM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 221
Opteron?

Is there anyone with experience of editing with the new AMD64 FX and/or Opteron for workstations (I'm confused which is what - will flame AMD marketing department at some point)

/magnus
__________________
Magnus Helander, Crossmediageek on G+
Magnus Helander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2004, 07:44 PM   #17
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
The FX processors are souped up versions of the AMD64 processors. They can use dual channel memory and have a larger cache if I remember correctly. They are a few to several percent faster than the normal processors. Anyways, they are worth buying only if you have really, really deep pockets since they only add a smidgen of performance (hard to notice) for a lot of extra money.

Opterons can be put in dual/quad/8-way processor setups (200 series for duallies, 400 for 4-way, 800 series for 8-way). They cost a lot more.

The normal AMD64 processors, the FX series processors, and the Opterons have some differences in the memory controllers which I don't know too well.

Dual processor setups don't help too much for Vegas (Vegas isn't that good at taking advantage of dual processor setups), although the MPEG2 encoder that comes with Vegas+DVD will. This might change when network rendering comes around. You might see some bigger performance gains from dual processors by network rendering to your own computers. This works with After Effects, so it might with Vegas 5.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2004, 02:01 AM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 221
<<<-- Originally posted by Glenn Chan : Anyways, they are worth buying only if you have really, really deep pockets since they only add a smidgen of performance (hard to notice) for a lot of extra money.

-->>>

That is what I couldn't figure out, the Opteron processor is 4x more exensive than standard AMD 64 Athlon, but there is no real performance increase. I read the Mac G5 vs. P4 vs. AMD64 shootout made by pcworld _and_ macworld at

http://www.pcworld.com/news/article/0,aid,112749,pg,8,00.asp

and it just does not make sense, why spend the money?

/magnus
__________________
Magnus Helander, Crossmediageek on G+
Magnus Helander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2004, 02:42 AM   #19
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Opterons can be used in multiprocessor setups. Normal AMD64 processors can't.

2- From what I remember of PCWorld and MacWorld, they don't run very good benchmarks. They usually aren't relevant to what you do.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network