Photo scanner issues. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 17th, 2004, 12:23 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ft. Myers Beach, Fl
Posts: 243
Photo scanner issues.

I just bought this Canon Canoscan Lide30. It is refusing to operate. When I go to scan something I can hear it start up, and then it just stops and doesnt do anything. Anyone here have this scanner and come across this problem? I tried Canon's web site but I found nothing useful. Unfortunately I think I'm gonna have to suck it up and try to deal with the idiots at Best Buy and attempt to return it. Which is a pain at that store.
Dustin Waits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2004, 12:50 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
Dustin,

I know this sounds stupid but did you install all the software like the Canoscan Toolbox?

What program are trying to import the photos into, Photoshop?
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2004, 11:21 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ft. Myers Beach, Fl
Posts: 243
<<<-- Originally posted by Adrian Douglas : Dustin,

I know this sounds stupid but did you install all the software like the Canoscan Toolbox?

What program are trying to import the photos into, Photoshop? -->>>


Orignally I only installed the driver and tried importing into photoshop. Then after that didnt work I uninstalled everything and reinstalled the driver and canoscan toolbox.
Dustin Waits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2004, 09:32 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 256
I don't know about the Canon scanner, but scanners I have used are locked mechanically during shipping and must be unlocked by moving a lever before you can use them. Is this the case with the Canon?

Thats all I could think of, I hope it helps.
Lloyd Coleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2004, 11:35 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ft. Myers Beach, Fl
Posts: 243
<<<-- Originally posted by Lloyd Coleman : I don't know about the Canon scanner, but scanners I have used are locked mechanically during shipping and must be unlocked by moving a lever before you can use them. Is this the case with the Canon?

Thats all I could think of, I hope it helps. -->>>


Yea but I made sure it was unlocked before doing anything.
Dustin Waits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2004, 03:57 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
So Photoshop is showing the scanner in the File>Import menu? Are you getting an error message whenn you try to import or is nothing happening at all?
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2004, 08:28 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
is it a twain set up? it really depends on the scanner as to how it will run, and if ur tryin to use the scanners drivers within another app, it could have issues. i DO know that canon PC support is virtually non existant.

i would suggest a fulll uninstall of the drivers, then plug in the scanner (it ifs USB) when it recognsies that new HW is found, THEN install teh SW..

usually u install the SW first.. but windows usually uses its own drivers as default, which is NOT what u want to happen right now
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:18 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network