Help with my new computer at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 25th, 2004, 11:20 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 29
Help with my new computer

G'day,

This is my new video editing computer's specs:

Hardware:
P4 3.2GHZ
1024MB PC-3200 DDR400 RAM
80GB HDD (internal)
DVD-RW+CDRW+CD+DVD
ATI Radeon™ 9600 PRO, 128 MB VRAM
Western Digital 250GB 7,200 8MB HDD (External)

Software:
Windows XP Pro
Adobe Premiere Pro
Adobe Audition
Adobe Encore
Adobe After Effects 6 (Professional Version)

My question is:
Should I partition my external 250GB HDD and if so in what way?
Shane Kinloch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2004, 05:25 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Shane,

Personally I would leave it how it is. It will not benefit you in any way. If you think it will increase speed, it will not.

Do you have a reason for doing it?
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2004, 06:17 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 29
I was under the impression that it would be easier to manage and run faster if I partitioned it. I guess I was wrong. This new 250GB HDD is the biggest HDD I have ever owned.
Shane Kinloch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2004, 03:35 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Hi Shane,

Yes it could be slightly easier to manage, but you could always use folders.
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2004, 11:07 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 159
external

Hi

The drive is firewire I guess or USB 2? Is it formatted with FAT32?

If it is then you'll only be able to store files on it of 4096Mbytes. If you format it NTFS you can use any size you want. Remember though, if you do format it with XP you cannot go back as XP will not format that drive with FAT32 again. It's one way with XP.

Hope that helps
Donie
Donie Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2004, 05:29 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 29
Donie,

Yes the drive is firewire.

Is there any other advantages/Disadvantages between FAT32 and NTFS formatting?

I can't see why it would be formatted FAT32 if its a 250GB HDD. How do I tell which way it is formatted?
Shane Kinloch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2004, 06:08 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 159
ntfs

Hi Shane

You're using XP so I'd go with using NTFS. However, there is one caveat in that a Win98/Me pc will not read a NTFS filesystem. I'm not sure about XP home Edition??? A MAC willl not read the files either but I believe you can get a read only driver for the mac to read an NTFS partition so that's something. Bottom line, if you are just using it on your pc as extra storage then use NTFS or if all the pc's you plug it into are one of NT, 2000 or XP pro then you're better off with NTFS.

Otherwise, stick with FAT32 for best compability. I find the 4096Meg limit a pain but it's usually OK as long as you remember not to log large clips over 20 minutes long or so.

You asked how to know if it was FAT32 or not. Open Windows Explorer and right-click on the external drive. Click properties.

Look for the file system type in the general tab.

Regards
Donie

ps: If the drive supports USB 2 and you have USB 2 on your pc, then it's faster then firewire. Unless of course, it's the new firewire 800 standard. I'm not sure if there are any drives out yet that support Firewire 800. Of course, your pc would have to be firewire 800 as well.
Donie Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2004, 06:48 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 29
Thanks very much for your help Donie. I have XP Pro and the drive is only used for storing video so I will go with NTFS.
Shane Kinloch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2004, 10:08 AM   #9
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Donie: according to my latest test, firewire is actually a little bit
ahead of USB2. Slightly less CPU consumption and slightly better
transfer rates. The difference isn't much, though.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2004, 10:46 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 159
Hi Rob

OK, intresting test. I was going by the max throughput of the interfaces which is obviously not reflected in real life.

I have a maxtor 200Gig and I might just switch over to firewire to see if there is any difference in speed.

Thanks for the test results.
Donie
Donie Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2004, 11:04 AM   #11
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Ofcourse this was limited to one drive. But it also is a Maxtor
drive. If you want run your own tests (I even linked to the
testing application) and see what happens! Like I said, the
difference isn't that large.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2004, 11:35 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 159
Hi Rob

Give me a day or so and I might get to do it. My pc is currently sold as I've moved to Mac and FCP 4.

I bough the drive to transfer the stuff from my pc to the mac. I'll do a mac test of throughput some day if I can fine a benchmark tool.

Regards
Donie
Donie Kelly is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network