Unhappy Canopus?Premiere users at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 2nd, 2004, 06:48 PM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: San Diego CA. and New Orleans, Loiuisana
Posts: 355
Unhappy Canopus?Premiere users

There is obviuosly quite a bit of unhappy Canopus users that can't seem tho get The Storm?Premiere solution going.

There is a discussion on the Canopus forum, and even a petition to get some action on working drivers.

The title of the post in the Canopus Premiere forum is "Let Japan know users are unhappy.

The petition is here: http://www.petitiononline.com/canppro/

Al Gardner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2004, 09:36 PM   #2
Regular Crew
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 38
Hmmm.... interesting since we all know that Premiere Pro 1.0 has been only released what... a year ago?

Was Canopus hybernating during this time?

Anyway, my thoughts on this is, if users have to sign petitions to get a company to write drivers for Premiere Pro knowing very well that Canpus sells the Storm 2 bundled with PPro, it's time to move on.

Just my 2 cents.

Elie Zakaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2004, 05:20 PM   #3
Regular Crew
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: ocho rios
Posts: 45
f. canopus

Canopus only knows how to fool the people. Crazy things are happening with canopus Raptor RT2. same as Raptor RT. They sold to me. I even brought ADVC1394 i dont think it has a 1394 option. I tried from f top to bottom... but nothing works with adobe premiere pro. I got a good lesson from buying canopus Raptor RT2.
Every day when i recording on to a vcr. ill get frame error. every time in between the projects man. again i have to restart the machine then i works. what the b.shit is this wasting of my time since i have to edit my videos in 1 or 2 days. boy me cant deal with this canopus anymore.
Now listern one more thing man. If i go to sell this products, nobody is ready to buy. I think its better to shift to Matrox is the best with all the adobe related softwares. , but i cant say its cheap. well i have only the f. option. left.

Vamshidhar Kuchikulla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2004, 06:21 AM   #4
Major Player
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 343
If you go to the Matrox forums, you will find a lot of folks complaining about all sorts of problems, but I am a very satisfied user of the RT.X100/PPro system. I have to edit about 6 hours of video every week and like Vamshidhar, I have less than three days to get it all done, including capturing, editing, authoring and burning 30-40 DVDs. The editing is not fancy or complicated, but the Matrox board allows me to get it all done on time and I'm not sure any other solution currently available would work as well for my particular situation. Matrox has announced that new drivers for PPro 1.5 will be available by the end of this month.
Ed Frazier
Ed Frazier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2004, 08:48 PM   #5
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
Posted today on the Canopus Web Site

We are pleased to announce that the Adobe Premiere Pro 1.0 plug-in v1.06 for DVStorm series, DVRex-RT series and DVRaptor-RT2 series has been officially released.

IMPORTANT NOTE: This plug-in is for Adobe Premiere Pro 1.0. It is an update to the prior Premiere Pro plug-ins and is not for Adobe Premiere Pro 1.5.

A plug-in for Premiere Pro v1.5 will be posted in the near future (currently expected in June) coinciding with the shipment of the free Adobe Premiere Pro 1.5 upgrades to qualified users who send in the free upgrade request form.
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2004, 10:12 AM   #6
Capt. Quirk
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne/Palm Bay Fla
Posts: 3,594
I'm using Premiere 6.0 and DV Storm. I never really had problems with it until recently. First, I can't get audio from the timeline, only my external monitor. This has bugged me for a few weeks now.

Last night, I downloaded all sorts of updates for Win2k, including a new Northbridge driver for my onboard raid. Today, Premiere crashes when rendering previews. So, I download all the newer drivers from Canopus, and the Premiere 6.02 update. It still crashes, or just suddenly closes. I hate Mondays...
K. Forman is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:46 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network