captured card only, no software at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 28th, 2002, 07:16 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5
captured card only, no software

Okay here is my situation, I have a really cheap capture card that I use to capture my video. I work with adobe premier and I hate the fact that I have to wait ages for it to render

I've decided to invest in a real good capture card. my question is, is it possible to buy just the capture card? I've seen a lot of the cards recommended by some of the people on this forum that come bundled with software. I don't see a point in "rebuying" adobe premier just to get a better card.

maybe I am just looking at the wrong cards here, is it possible to get just the capture card from some of these companies? or will i run into problems by not running their version of the software with the card. i am very confused. one of the pinnacle cards is at $1200 that comes with premier and other titles. I figured thats about $800 in software alone and about 400 for the card, is this right?

some please explain this to me, or point me at the right direction, thanks in advance...
sjvideoPlus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2002, 10:01 PM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Check out the Canopus DVStorm SE, it's just the real-time capture card with analog and DV in & out. Doesn't come with Premiere like the regular DVStorm does, so it's perfect for you and should be less than $1000. By the way, the money is in the card, *not* the software. See www.justedit.com and www.justeditors.com -- hope this helps,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2002, 12:53 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5
yes thank you, I was looking at the dvstorm, it could very well be exactly what I am looking for. its not that expensive either. the card seems to be better than the matrox rt2500 and the pinnacle pro one, is this right?
sjvideoPlus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2002, 08:07 AM   #4
Capt. Quirk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of the woods in Georgia
Posts: 3,596
One of the features that I enjoy the most about my Storm system (Besides the real time), is the Breakout box. Can you get it with the SE, or just the SE Plus?

I was between the Pinnacle Pro-One and the DV Storm, and because the Pinnacle wasn't supporting Win 2K when it came out, they lost.
Keith
K. Forman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2002, 10:28 AM   #5
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Break-out box and Adobe Premiere are not included with DVStorm SE. The break-out box is not required anyway... Storm runs fine without it.

What Storm has over the RT2500 or Pro-One is real-time output to DV, and scalable performance (capabilities increase as CPU & RAM increase). Hope this helps,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2002, 11:59 AM   #6
Capt. Quirk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of the woods in Georgia
Posts: 3,596
The breakout box isn't necessary, but it does make life much better! I never want to have to reach behind my PC again :)
Keith
K. Forman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network