Can MediaStudio Pro 7 handle MPEG2 TS? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 15th, 2004, 03:37 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 489
Can MediaStudio Pro 7 handle MPEG2 TS?

Can MediaStudio Pro 7 handle MPEG2 TS?


I am using the European version of the JVC GR-HD1, called the 'GR-PD1'.


Like it's American counterpart it uses MPEG2 TS... though please note it's not a HD cam!


I have downloaded trial of MediaStudio Pro 7 but can't seem to capture from the MPEG2 TS.


Do I need to tweak some setting, or do I need to purchase the HD plug-in even though I'm not dealing in HD, just MPEG2 TS.


I would appreciate any info on this.


Thanks a million.


Graham
Graham Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2004, 10:04 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Posts: 548
The main issue is that the standard capture tools are going to expect to receive a DV data stream over firewire. They can't parse the MPEG2 TS data that gets sent from the tape.

You should be able to EDIT the video fine without plugins. You're probably best off capturing with the JVC software that comes with the camera, then use MSP for editing.
Nick Jushchyshyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2004, 02:42 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 489
Thanks Nick.

'The main issue is that the standard capture tools are going to expect to receive a DV data stream over firewire. They can't parse the MPEG2 TS data that gets sent from the tape.'

Well, they can handle MPEG TS data from the HD1 and HD10 with the HDV plug in from Ulead added.

'You should be able to EDIT the video fine without plugins. You're probably best off capturing with the JVC software that comes with the camera, then use MSP for editing.'

Tried that - capturing with the bundled NLE, then trying to open such captured files in MediaStudio Pro - MediaStudio Pro won't accept it. Nothing opens...

Any more thoughts, anyone? My instinct is to buy both MediaStudio Pro and the HD plug in - but I can't just go with that... I gotstaknow!
Graham Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2004, 03:00 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 489
..seem to have found some initial answers, see HDV Editing section
Graham Jones is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:53 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network