Dual Monitors at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 24th, 2004, 11:56 AM   #1
Unregistered Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Dual Monitors

Hi,
I'm trying to set up dual monitors, and im having problems. I have my LCD hooked up to my AGP Graphics card, and my secondary monitor hooked up to the video input from my Motherboard.

When I go to display panel, I have the options for two monitors (It displays Monitor 1, and Monitor 2), yet directly underneath of the monitors, it has the drop down box and this is what it says:
1. Plug And Play Monitor on RADEON 7000 SERIES
2. Plug And Play Monitor on RADEON 7000 SERIES


But the second monitor is hooked up to the motherboard, so how do I go about getting monitor one from one input and monitor two from another?

I tried to explain my problem as best as I could without making it too long.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2004, 12:45 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Long and detailed posts are always welcome, they make it much easier to understand your problem!!!

You say that your secondary monitor his hooked to the video input. Do you not mean video out put (S-video)?

Please explain what you are trying to do. Generally you hook up 2 VGA monitors to 2 VGA outputs on the same graphics card. The S-video is normally for viewing on a TV screen. If you are editing and want to preview your edits on a TV, then you need to connect it via your camcorder which is hooked via firewire (unless you have an analogue breakout box/ Hardware).

You can not use 2 different VGA ports from 2 different cards (Radeon and on-board), as far as I am aware of.

Please explain your situation:
What NLE software you are using?
What are you trying to acheive?

Thanks,
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2004, 12:46 PM   #3
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
One is probably your TV out on the card. The problem is this:

Your onboard video card is also AGP. There can be only one
device on the AGP bus, that's why you haven't seen any
motherboard out with more than one AGP bus.

Guess what happens as soon as you plug an AGP card in your
system? Yes, your onboard model is disabled and Windows
will NOT see it.

You can easily verify this, go to your hardware list and you'll
see you will only have one graphics adapter.

So either get an additional PCI card or a dual head AGP card
(if this model doesn't have that => make sure to check!)
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2004, 01:10 PM   #4
Unregistered Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks guys, I guess I wont be running dual monitors then, haha.

My AGP card has S-video aswell as vga, the second monitor is connected to my motherboard via vga also, so i'll end up buying a another card when I get a job.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2004, 03:58 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 155
just pick up an inexpensive PCI vid card, shoot i run three monitors, two off ATI 9500pro and one off an old voodoo 16MB

For a client of mine who doesnt care how much he spends, I set up 3 21 inch dell LCDs and a projector. I got him a $80 ATI PCI that could handle dual for the third LCD and projector from circuit city, and im sure you could get something like that cheaper.
__________________
Trey Perrone

Trey Perrone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2004, 11:10 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: tampa fl
Posts: 92
Curtis what us the number on the back of the card? I got one off ebay thinking it was a dual card but it never world "see it" . It is a 7000 radeon it has the adc and vga ,rca.

RB
Roy Beazley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2004, 05:30 PM   #7
Unregistered Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mine is a:
Radeon 7000 AGP (0x5159)

I'm going to buy a new one however.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2004, 04:20 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 202
I have a new 128MB ATI RADEON™ X300 PCI Express16x I bought for dual display. I was told by someone, that with a simple cable, you can run the DVI output to both a SVGA and a TV monitor simultaneously, the TV output being your preview window.

Has anyone here done that?
Alex Dunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2004, 06:16 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 155
i believe it would be better to run ut back firewire, view through tv that way...as opposed to lookin at it through some werid conversion done through the driver/vid card.

yea.

maybe.

?

:-|
__________________
Trey Perrone

Trey Perrone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2004, 02:00 AM   #10
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
It could work, Alex. But I would rather have a second screen to
put extra windows on and use the firewire out as a preview on
a TV or broadcast monitor as Trey indicated.

The card must do aspect ratio and resolution convertions and
probably two color space switches as well. This does not improve
upon the signal.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:52 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network