Sdram Pc100 Vs Pc133 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 10th, 2004, 12:33 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 795
Sdram Pc100 Vs Pc133

Oakay guys. Hope someone knows the answer to this one.
I have an motherboard that supports processors up to P3 and uses sdrams memory. Now, the manual doesn't say if it can use pc133 memory. I've been using pc100 the whole time. Now I'm asking you all, if it matters if I put in a pc133 memory?

My personal thought is, it will probably not work within it's parameters as it was made for and thus only work as a normal pc100 instead of pc133. Do I make sense?
__________________
Charles
'What we perceive to be may not be what we believe to be.'
Charles King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2004, 06:56 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 795
Please, anybody I need an answer, please. This guy is selling 2 sticks(256) at an auction and I need to place a bid, like now. The auction is over in about 6 hours.
__________________
Charles
'What we perceive to be may not be what we believe to be.'
Charles King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2004, 07:03 AM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
All I can tell you is that when I bought my new Powerbook last fall the store sold me pc100 SDRAM and it fit the socket fine. But the computer wouldn't recognize it. After looking on Apple's website I found that it had to be 133 to match the computer's refresh rate. I'm not sure if the opposite would hold true or not...
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2004, 07:20 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 795
Well, I guess it's a lost case then. Thanks.
__________________
Charles
'What we perceive to be may not be what we believe to be.'
Charles King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2004, 11:22 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Saguenay, Québec, Canada
Posts: 1,051
You can go for it Charles. If your motherboard has only 100 mhz memory bus, the PC133 ram will be underclocked at 100 mhz without any problem. I am running myself some old PCs with only 66 mhz memory bus with PC133 SDRAM sticks
__________________
Jean-Philippe Archibald
http://www.jparchibald.com - http://www.vimeo.com/jparchib
Jean-Philippe Archibald is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:32 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network