How to edit live multicam on PC? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 9th, 2004, 03:13 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester and Kent, UK
Posts: 256
How to edit live multicam on PC?

Ok, I hope that this isnít a stupid question....

I once saw documentary footage of the making of an awards ceremony. They had several cameras set up, and I caught a glimpse of the editors screen. It seemed to show all the camera feeds in their separate windows (like Multicam software, but it was all linear and live) He looked to be doing it on a regular PC, that he had set up on location.

Does anyone have any insight?

Hope that made senseÖ
__________________
Richard Lewis.
Steadicam Owner / Operator
Richard Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2004, 07:12 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
It might be video toaster.

http://www.newtek.com/products/vt/info/switcher.html
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2004, 04:46 AM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Nice find Glenn!


I've been looking for something like this, thats PC based, and has everything with it. By the looks of things you can run it off any number of firewire cards in your computer. How amazing is that!

Time to dig behind the sofa...
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2004, 12:05 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Litchfield Park, AZ (W/of Phoenix)
Posts: 502
here is another option...

http://www.unitedmediainc.com/multicam/
__________________
Miguel Lombana
http://www.miguellombana.com & http://www.phoenixhamradio.com
Miguel Lombana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2004, 06:36 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1,892
Miguel, Multi-cam software is great but that's after the fact. Richard, I think the best word to use is switch instead of edit. Richard is looking for something to do it live. I don't know if I would trust computers just yet for live switching. When it freezes or crashes, ..........

James Emory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2004, 08:59 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Litchfield Park, AZ (W/of Phoenix)
Posts: 502
Ohh you're right, sorry about that, I guess that I was speed reading again and with all the hurricanes in this area in the last month, sleep has not been a luxury!
__________________
Miguel Lombana
http://www.miguellombana.com & http://www.phoenixhamradio.com
Miguel Lombana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2004, 09:37 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
I've heard of the Videonics MX-1 (old analog mixer) shutting off every once in a while.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2004, 01:47 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester and Kent, UK
Posts: 256
Thanks for the "Toaster" link, thats exactly the kind of thing I was looking for.

The morning afer I posted this thread, my computer got a boot virus, and I had to start from the beginning (reload the OS) :( That'll teach me to keep Norton updated.

Ahh well, I'm back up and running now, It's a good job that my editing suite is isolated :)

Thnx for the posts..
__________________
Richard Lewis.
Steadicam Owner / Operator
Richard Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2004, 06:50 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1,892
Globecaster

There is a system called Globecaster that switches live video sources.

www.globalstreams.com
James Emory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2004, 04:23 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aubrey, TX
Posts: 80
FYI, I use a Toaster based system (VT3) for live switching at work. It simply rocks. Yes, it has messed up a time or two, but that's very seldom considering I've used it for several years now. I looked at the Globecast system before making the purchase. Newtek's Video Toaster kills the Globecaster hands down. There is a huge online community dedicated to the Toaster system and is just as informative as this site.
Bobby Abernathy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2004, 06:26 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,727
Bobby, how do you manage when there are big distances between host and cameras? Are you using DV or an analog signal?

I'm curious because a friend is currently looking into a solution where he will try and build a series of small mini-itx systems (1 per camera) and go cam->firewire->mini-itx->ethernet->fast switch->final host.

Combined with some custom software on the host to switch and manage the EDL as such.

Aaron
__________________
My Website
Meat Free Media
Aaron Koolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2004, 10:12 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aubrey, TX
Posts: 80
I use three Sonys on individual P/T systems in our courtroom, and the maximum cable run is only around 80 feet or so. We're just using composite connections, no DV involved. I believe with the SX-8 (BOB for the Toaster), there's no need for additional GenLock devices as everything is synced. on input.

It is possible to use firewire as a source on the switcher, which I've done to an extent, but I've heard it's usually a no-no due to the latency involved. There's a good 3-5 frame delay between live and switched with any analog connection to the BOB, but firewire had an additonal delay which made it (to me) nearly non-usable when mixed with analog and digital sources. If all sources were firewire connections, it might work fine, not sure, depends on your routing.

What is mini-itx? Seems like a lot of steps for that video to go through to get to your switcher.
Bobby Abernathy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2004, 10:53 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,727
mini-itx is just a small form factor PC motherboard - and there is now nano-itx which are about 6 inches or so square. His idea was to basically build VERY small PC's with firewire and transfer that over a network, synced on a master machine. Might not work at all, but it could be a lower cost way as those mini-itx systems are pretty cheap.

Aaron
__________________
My Website
Meat Free Media
Aaron Koolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2004, 11:01 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aubrey, TX
Posts: 80
Gotcha. If he wants keep the video digital, he could also look at firewire repeaters. Could be cheaper than a pc for each connection. I don't know what length of distances he wants to send the video, but analog connections can look really good, are cheaper and sometimes more reliable.
Bobby Abernathy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:21 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network