Upgrading RAM at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 14th, 2004, 03:06 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posts: 126
Upgrading RAM

Hey,

I have a sony viao PCG-FR315B laptop and I'm thinking of upgrading it because I'll need to when I get some editing software and have to store my movie files.

I'm looking at getting an extra 80-100GB or so external hard drive and also upgrading to 512mb Ram.

Currently I have 256MB RAM and this looks liek the most difficult thing to upgrade. Is it really a neccesity? Will the pc perform well enough on the RAM it has or will I definetly need more? Obviously I don't want slow down or anything but I am assuming that might be the case here if I leave it as it is?

Thanks
Kevin Gilvear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2004, 03:11 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,315
You 'can' run on 256, but you 'should' have 512. Obviously drive space is more critical, so if it's between the two, go for the drive space first.
Imran Zaidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2004, 03:15 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posts: 126
ok cheers. I'll try that first. I just hope when I'm editing a film it doesn't go mental on me.
Kevin Gilvear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2004, 04:31 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Which NLE?

With Vegas, 256MB is fine.
With Premiere Pro, probably not. Check with Premiere forums on that, although I believe Premiere is a resource guzzler.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2004, 04:45 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posts: 126
NLE?

OK well i'll go with vegas then and see how that goes nearer the time.
Thanks
Kevin Gilvear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2004, 07:50 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
NLE = lazy way of saying editing software.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2004, 08:23 AM   #7
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Non Linear Editor

Keep in mind that laptops have different (sized) components than
normal PC's. So make sure whatever you buy can be put in your
laptop. Normally you would let a computer shop or your laptop
manufacturer take care of things like that.

Especially memory can be a very tricky thing if you are going with
a different brand. Be very carefull with that!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2004, 11:45 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posts: 126
I've managed to find a chip that can be easily fit underneath the laptop and I've spoken to sony help centre. I've found a decent external hard drive too, so I just have to get the money together and buy those.

Thanks for the help.
Kevin Gilvear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2004, 12:12 PM   #9
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
FWIW....

I've found that anything less than 1 Gig RAM is a problem. Obviously, it depends on the type of source images.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2004, 12:19 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posts: 126
Well with what I'll be getting (512) it will up the overall to over 700. Will this be enough to run, say Sony Vegas and a few effects programmes if need be? It'll only be used for converting and editing.
Kevin Gilvear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2004, 12:41 PM   #11
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
oughta be just fine. it's simply a performance issue.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2004, 12:45 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posts: 126
Cool thanks
Kevin Gilvear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2004, 12:05 AM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
windows XP any flavor runs OK on 512 but will choke on 256mb. yesh even if you're typing papers and saving them, browsing internet, etc.. for editing i highly recommend 1GB to cover the overheads.
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2004, 08:05 AM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,315
Oh you don't HAVE to have 1Gb. I'm finally upgrading to a system that has 1Gb but I've been running very well with no problems, slowdowns or crashes on a 512Mb system. You can keep an eye on the Task Manager for that sort of stuff. 1Gb is nice, definitely, but if you're on a budget there's no reason to sweat profusely over it.
Imran Zaidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2004, 08:24 AM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
you don't HAVE to have 1GB just like you don't HAVE to have 512mb but if you look at the task manager when you have 1gb windows sure is taking up a lot of space. i think WXPP really needs to go on a diet. it's TOO FAT!

512mb makes windows XP bearable... but 1gb makes windows XP comfortable.
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:46 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network