Raptest at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 18th, 2004, 07:30 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 804
Raptest

When I run "Raptest" on my C drive the results in writing speed vary from 4 to 34 Mb/sec. Everything is "clean"(defrag...) The disk has 33% free space. Disabling virusscan doesn't change the allways changing results. I think my disk is "getting old"(though no bad sectors!) and gets out of tolerance so that the packet writing applied in Raptest has to be redone sometimes. Any advise?
Andre De Clercq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2004, 08:16 AM   #2
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Could it be some kind of thermal calibration causing the slow down?
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2004, 08:26 AM   #3
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
1. I don't know "raptest", not every test program ou there is good or reliable

2. harddisks always change in throughput speed since more data is packed in the inner ring than the other ring on the same space

3. does this test you are running have a name? You normally have average tests, maximum throughput etc. etc.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2004, 09:03 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 804
Rob, Raptest/Rextest is pretty well accepted in the DV amateur world. You can free download it from http://www.canopus.us/US/products/fr..._utilities.asp.
Jeff, the HDD is not that old so it's not a type that needs TC.
Andre De Clercq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2004, 09:06 AM   #5
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Is there any other device on the SAME cable as this IDE drive?
What operating system are you running?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2004, 10:01 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 804
Yes Rob, a CDRW is connected as a slave on the primary IDE channel. The OS is XPpro SP2
Andre De Clercq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2004, 10:02 PM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
I think you are seeing the reason it is advisable not to use the C drive for video. Windows has absolute control over that drive and will go to it at random times, locking out any other activity. That may well be why you see such a variation in the speed.

RapTest is indeed a good indicator of drive speed. I've been using the RexTest for the past 6 years with no problems. They are essentially the same program.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2004, 10:20 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 804
Thanks Mike, could well be the reason and maybe XP is even more active in claiming my C-drive than W2k used to be. The dips were there too but never below 15Mbs
Andre De Clercq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2004, 04:11 AM   #9
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Although XP might do that, it really shouldn't. I would first
disconnect the CDRW from the primary IDE channel and run the
tests again. I'm pretty sure your drive is running in a lower UDMA
mode due to this burner being on there. Either move it to the
other IDE channel or get some extra IDE channels with a PCI
card like the ones from Promise or Adaptec.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2004, 04:34 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 804
Rob I will "play"with it and report later on. B.t.w. the C drive is on the primary master (CS) and the controller for that channel shows Ultra DMA 5. There are more devices installed on the PC and one of them (a videodisk) is on a PCI card (HTP366 from Abit)
Andre De Clercq is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:59 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network