New PC's Not Good Enough for NLE at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 14th, 2002, 02:32 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Petoskey, MI
Posts: 4
New PC's Not Good Enough for NLE

I'm currently using Pinnacle Studio 7 and need more options and flexibility.

I'm a Photoshop and Illustrator user, so I naturally looked toward Premiere, specifically Pinnacle's DV500 DVD package. After talking at length with Pinnacle's staff, they have informed me my HP Pavilion with a 1.8 processor and nVidia GeForce2 MX400 video card aren't up to snuff. Matter of fact it seems their hardware requirements are very specific.

Recently, after hours of perusing this fantastic board, I've become very interested in the Vegas Video product.

Can anyone tell me if Vegas Video requires an accelerator card and if so; are they as picky about PC configuration? Also is Premiere useful without an accelerator?

Thanks for your input!
Michael Gilmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2002, 03:06 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 42
vegas doesn't use hardware accelerators, it's got real time preview.


the way it does this is try and render on the fly, dropping frames and quality as it starts to choke. What a great feature you say! But... what if I NEED to see a crucial 2-3 minute portion of my project? well, Vegas has you covered. You can selectively prerender video as well.

I use Vegas and love it, but I"m an audiophile, and with Vegas you get exposed to professional quality audio plugins (DXi format), and once Vegas 4.0 comes out we *should* be able to use VSTi format plugs as well.

Get Videofactory 2.0 from Sonic Foundry for $60 and try it out.
If you like it, upgrade to Vegas Video for another $200.

That path is actually cheaper than buying Vegas outright at $419.99.

I also use Sonic Foundry's SoundForge 6 to master my audio tracks, and the Noise Reduction Plugins to clean up my audio.

HTH

-Eric
Eric Richmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2002, 03:46 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
I use Vegas Video exclusively, these days. I started with Adobe Premiere and Pinnacle Studio 7. VV3 has both of these apps beat, in my opinion.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2002, 06:26 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I must say that it is very hard to believe that a 1.8 GHz processor
would not be fast enough.... so what are the minimum specs
for that product?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2002, 12:21 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 336
I'm wondering

if that HP model still uses the 133mhz FSB even though that CPU is capable of 400mhz FSB (potential bandwidth bottleneck).

It's the only reason I could think think of off the top of my head.
__________________
Dan Holly
Anchorage, Alaska
Dan Holly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2002, 01:23 PM   #6
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Regarding any Pinnacle, Matrox or Canopus real-time card, it's always best to build the computer around the card, rather than shoe-horning the card into a potentially incompatible "off the shelf" PC such as a Dell, Gateway or HP.

Consider having your editing system built by an authorized Pinnacle systems integrator, such as Ken Bell at DV Line (www.dvline.com) -- it's only a couple hundred bucks more, it's done right the first time, it's guaranteed to work, it's preconfigured & tested, plus lifetime free tech support. In the long run, a better value ultimately. Hope this helps,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2002, 12:03 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
As Chris said, it's better to build a machine around a card than add a card to an exsisting machine. It's not that you machine doesn't have the power, I use a DV500 with a PIII 667 and a Matrox G400, it's the fact that the DV500 is extremely picky about the hardware enviroment it shares. It may not be compatable with the HP motherboard.

The DV500 is a pretty good product but it does take a bit of tech knowledge, or lots of trial and error and heaps of colourful language to set it up properly. The v3.0 driver was a shocker but I've recently gone up to v4.1 and so far so good, the easiest installation yet.
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2002, 12:23 AM   #8
Tourist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Petoskey, MI
Posts: 4
<<<-- Originally posted by Adrian Douglas : As Chris said, it's better to build a machine around a card than add a card to an exsisting machine. -->>>

Yes, I'm getting that impression. Unfortunately I've already got the system. And frankly at this point, if I can get away with it, I'd rather spend the additional 2+ grand on camera gear and editing software than PC hardware. A lesson learned. BTW Adrian, I checked out your Website. I like your webmaster's attitude! <g>

Do I understand this right, Premiere/Pinnacle solves the rendering problem with special hardware and Vegas Video just wants shear horsepower to blast through the 'sticky' spots?


Oh and Eric, I checked on that upgrade path you mentioned with Vegas Video, almost seems too good to be true.
Michael Gilmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2002, 08:13 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
Michael,

First, thanks for dropping by and thanks for the supportive comment.

You are correct in the fact that Pinnacle uses hardware to provide partial RT functionality. The DV500 is getting a little long in the tooth but is still a good entry level board.

By the sound of your system I'd go for Vegas Video, it's a solid app and will do you well until you decide which way you want to go. Myself, I am heading towards a Mac/FCP setup as it seems to be becoming a defacto DV standard.
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2002, 06:16 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Posts: 287
It is also worth noting that Premiere does not require the accelerator card. It's perfectly capable of being a software only NLE.
Ralph Keyser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2002, 07:30 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,727
There is of course the new Premiere 6.5 with realtime preview (Seems to be a bit buggy) and AVID DV Xpress. Avid is really nice to use but has a couple of strange quirks that I haven't solved in the little time I've had playing with it.
Aaron Koolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2002, 10:03 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 42
Mike,

Yeah, I was shocked myself, but thats exactly what I did.

I downloaded the VideoFactory demo, and the Premier demo, then quickly bought VF, then realized after the fact that I could get the upgrade for only $199.99!

amazing!

For an audiophile like me, VV fits the bill perfectly!

-Eric
Eric Richmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2002, 05:02 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tavares Fla
Posts: 541
I had all kinds of problems with pinnacle after I started injecting their patches to fix problems (Studio DV7). I am not an editor but have had Vegas Video 3 for a couple of days nows. Downloaded about 2 minutes worth of footage into the media file, dragged them onto the timeline and started playing around with fades, wipes etc. I have cut the film, split it, and taken into sound forge and removed an amatuer sized thump from the audio by finding some other audio in that event, cutting it and pasting it over my great big "pop" . I was a little intimadated at first until I just sat down and read, used the tutorials, and mostly used the indexed "help"feature. I admit I have a lot to learn, but at least now editing is a challenge and not an aggravation. My computer is a pentium III 733 with 512 megs of ram with an ATI 64 meg video card, capturing is a little "jumpy" but it captures all of it and plays it back fine. I am indebted to the DV community for discussing vv3, it appears to be the answer I needed in editing.
Don Parrish is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:31 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network