is it wise to source from and render to same external hard drive at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 3rd, 2005, 04:58 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 489
is it wise to source from and render to same external hard drive

I'm using a Matrox 250 GB external firewire hard drive. It's 137 GB Full - with unedited footage. 96GB remains.

Is it wise to render edited scenes to the same hard drive? Is it okay that my source and destination are on the same drive. Does this cause problems or a loss in speed.

Opinions appreciated.
__________________
www.irishfilmmaker.com
Graham Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2005, 05:01 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
No problems, fine to do. You will loose speed ofcourse, since it will
need to read and write to the same drive. I've done a lot of
rendering on/to the same drive.

p.s. you will also increase fragmentation on that drive....
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2005, 05:23 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 489
Thanks Rob. How do I increase fragmentation on that drive? Just go to drive and open disk defragmenter?

I expect my edit to be about 40 GB max, whereas I have 96 left.
__________________
www.irishfilmmaker.com
Graham Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2005, 05:33 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Decrease fragmentation, you want to decrease it <g>

Right-click on a drive in my computer and select properties. Go into
the tools tab. There will be a button Defragment Now. Another way
is to go to your administrative tools and open computer management.
The disk defragmenter is under storage.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2005, 07:46 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 489
yeah, sorry I got confused there for a second. You meant that rendering edited scenes to the same hard drive the footage is on will increase fragmentation...

Would you have recommended de-fragging now if I hadn't asked how to do it... should I leave de-fragging until I experience problems?

Thanks again!
__________________
www.irishfilmmaker.com
Graham Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2005, 11:11 AM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
I personally would leave defragging until you have finished your project. De-fragging can take a while with extremely large files on a disk.

You could of course analyse before you defrag that way you will find out whether you would need to do it or not.
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2005, 11:30 AM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: GA, USA
Posts: 2
Executive Software's Diskkeeper would be a good investment. Its an enhanced version of the disk defragger that comes with windows, but allows for scheduling, defragging the windows swap file, etc... I keep mine set to continiously defrag if I'm not using the computer. costs about $30 or $40.
Tommy Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2005, 09:06 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Yokohama, Japan
Posts: 366
Hmm... basicly you are OK to read&write to same drive but add to that it's external... - double bottle neck for the speed (although good external interfaces doesn't limit the hardrive phisical speed). But again the FireWire connection should work in both directions so really doesn't sound clever.
Don't you have some space on internal drives to schedule your render to there. Don't be afraid to use the drive with the OS&programs (the system one). It wont hurt performance as most things are executed from the RAM anyway.
Bogdan Vaglarov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2005, 02:16 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 489
I don't have so much space on internal drive that I could be comfortable. I don't mind if rendering takes longer using the external drive, due to the fact that I am also sourcing footage from it. Just needed to know if I would create other problems.. but I think it will be okay.
__________________
www.irishfilmmaker.com
Graham Jones is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:48 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network