FW slave capture on notebook - any options? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 17th, 2005, 08:29 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 221
FW slave capture on notebook - any options?

Hi,
does anyone know of a software other than DVrack which can do slave mode capture on a PC, so when I press record on the camera the notebook starts capturing video from FireWire to harddisk. DVR is $300 - there must be a better way to solve this....
Cheers,
Magnus


PS. Just noticed that there is a DVrack lite for $150 with DVcapture, live preview - but it does not do slave recording....
__________________
Magnus Helander, Crossmediageek on G+
Magnus Helander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2005, 09:30 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Hmm.... maybe you should talk to the author of Scenalyzer - it might be a function he could add.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2005, 12:24 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DuPont, Wa
Posts: 325
DVRack actually has a rebate right now of $200..fyi..
Pat Sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2005, 01:49 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 201
<<<-- Originally posted by Pat Sherman : DVRack actually has a rebate right now of $200..fyi.. -->>>

I'm on the edge and am thinking about this purchase. Since the rebate is only good for a few more days I'm wondering if anyone here can help me with the decision.

The main functions I'd see this serving for me is a good monitor and direct to disk package which I assume good based on the reviews I've read and the info on their site.

The other key component I'd see myself using and is where my hesitation is would be the white balance and color settings that it supposedly makes simple for shoots. I have and will likely continue shooting a good bit of interview footage and getting the colors right has been tough for me so far. If this makes it easy and if I can get one camera set up and then move the laptop to another and get it set up the same then this thing would be gold for me.

Anyone know how well this scenario fits with the DVRack package?

Thanks,
Kevin
Kevin Kimmell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2005, 02:55 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DuPont, Wa
Posts: 325
Yes.. You run sureshot for the camera your using.. Then get it all setup, of course each time you change locations or distances, I would recommend running through the setup again. Then run over to your other camera and plug it in and setup that one as well..
Pat Sherman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:10 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network