Hardware accelerator for rescaling at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 25th, 2005, 01:36 PM   #1
Air China Pilot
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 2,389
Hardware accelerator for rescaling

I have a client who is asking if there is a card that will help in rescaling video.

His job requires that he takes a MiniDV format and then, after editing, outputs it as an .mov (or other format) rescaled down. He is complaining that the rescaling takes a lot of time and wants to know if getting a card will help.

Unfortunately I don't at this time know what his platform is. I know he works on a Mac but he may also transfer directly onto a PC with his camera if it is more economical.

I just want to know in theory if a card will help with rescaling processing (not effects or real-time editing).

From what I've read so far it looks like this is far more dependent upon the CPU than any accelerator card.
Visit http://www.KeithLoh.com | stuff about living in Vancouver | My Flickr photo gallery
Keith Loh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2005, 03:19 PM   #2
Regular Crew
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Haven, CT, USA
Posts: 59
I think a video card would only help with the playback/previewing.

A CPU/Ram upgrade would probably do him better, as you mentioned. =)
Steve Withers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2005, 06:44 PM   #3
Inner Circle
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,488
I don't know if this will help for downsampling below SD resolution, but here's something to consider:

Kevin Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2005, 05:38 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I assume you are talking about SD resolution footage? If so I
doubt the downscaling is what is taking the time. I bet the time
is really in the encoding (with the chosen codec) of the QuickTime.

Can you give us some more details on what he is doing exactly?
From which resolution to which resolution? What settings for
the QuickTime encode? Which program is he using? etc. etc.

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2005, 01:41 PM   #5
Major Player
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 382
Is this person working on a Mac at all (because of quicktime)...

It's easy enough to automate/script out the resample/export process in Quicktime Pro using Applescript. If it's time consuming to click through each one, it's pretty easy to set up a one time Applescript or macro to batch process.
Patrick Jenkins is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:09 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network