How do I hook up a TV monitor to my computer? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 2nd, 2002, 12:44 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 304
How do I hook up a TV monitor to my computer?

I want to hook up a TV or second monitor to my computer, so when i play something in Adobe Premier, It plays on the monitor. Any ideas or thoughts where i should look for that information?
__________________
http://www.fusionarena.com
Brad Simmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2002, 02:53 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
To my knowledge there are two ways to do this. If you have an
XL1 you can leave it ON through firewire and connect your monitor
to the camera. You will see everything you do. This however (at
least on my system) has the disadvantage that everything is now
horribly SLOW in Premiere. The only other way I know is to buy
a more serious editing/firewire board from someone like
Canopus, Pinnacle or Matrox. These boards have analog (in/)out
next to (a) firewire port(s), you can hook up a TV/monitor on
that and it will display your editing. I myself am thinking about
getting such a board to for the same reason.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2002, 03:54 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 304
allright easy enough thanks!
Brad Simmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2002, 02:07 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 164
**stupid question alert**

The firewire card you speak of is the one that you install into your comp correct? I know very little about the internal working of the miniDV camera so i wanted to make sure.
Thanks
Ryan Wachter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2002, 04:23 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cupertino, California, USA
Posts: 301
I have one of those video cards (nvidia GeForce 4) with a TV out. I was trying to do the same thing you guys are talking about where AP6 outputs the monitor window to a TV monitor. I can't find any way in AP6 to select a TV output as my monitor. Any help on this would be great!

Thanks.
__________________
Scott Silverman
Shining Star Digital Video Productions
Bay Area, CA
Scott Silverman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2002, 10:13 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
I'm not familar with the Nvida card but I don't think TV out cards work the way you want it to with Premiere. To get just the monitor window to display on your TV at standard resolution you do infact need a breakout box attached to a third party capture card.
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2002, 11:52 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NH
Posts: 95
If this helps any...

I have an ATI radeon 8500dv which has analog (composit and and s video) as well as digital iee1394 fire wire and analog stereo in and out and a built in tv tuner. Whew!.

I use vegas video with my sony pvm14m4u connected to the composit video out of the breakout box. And my lcd monitor connceted to the DVI out on the board. Just drag the preview window onto the the sony monitor and viola!

The editing is done on the lcd and the preview (client) screen only shows the output window.

Works great. I only wish the 8500 had the capability of supporting another Computer monitor becuse thing can get a little tight on the LCD.

This also works in xpress dv 3.0, combustion, Red, 3dsmax etc. haven't used any adobe stuff yet.

Good luck
__________________
Marc Betz
Marc Betz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2002, 12:05 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NH
Posts: 95
lastwachter

Yes Firewire, iee1394, ilink, are all different names for a communication protocol that is used to transfer digital video in and out of the computer (as well as other data) It can be a seperate PCI card like a ads pyro card, it can be part of your motherboard (very new systems have it), it can also be part of your video sub system like a ati radeon dv card, or it can be on a seperate video transfer card (capture card) such as a pinnacle pro one, matrox rtx, or canops storm/rex.

Hope this helps
__________________
Marc Betz
Marc Betz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 8th, 2002, 04:58 AM   #9
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Personally I would not use a TV-out, second video card or dual
head card or something. Because these will CONVERT the image
to display on a monitor/TV. What you want is either a good edit
card that has both firewire and analog out or connect a device
(like your camera or an firewire->analog converter) to your
firewire card to which you connect a TV/monitor. This will get you
the signal directly instead of converting it from a square pixel
RGB signal (and possibly resizing as well!!).
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:27 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network