Firewire Card for PC with New GL2?? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 2nd, 2002, 11:33 PM   #1
edNYC330
 
Posts: n/a
Firewire Card for PC with New GL2??

I just picked up a GL2 and am trying to set up the firewire connection to my PC.

I bought a $25 actiontec firewire card. Windows XP recognizes the firewire card, but when I plug in the GL2, I am asked for a AV/C Subunit driver.

I went to the Canon website and didn't see any drivers.

Should I return this card and get another one?

If so, which cards will recognize the camera?

Thanks!!


Ed
  Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2002, 12:20 AM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Howdy from Texas,

What video editing software are you using? If you don't have any editing or video capture software installed, then that's probably where the trouble is.

Is the FireWire card OHCI compliant? It will say so somewhere if it is.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2002, 01:54 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 202
You can tell if your camera is being recognized by going to the device manager. I just went through this myself due to a bad firewire cable! Hours of troubleshooting and phone calls all wasted due to a bad cable. Don't go cheap! I got the good stuff now and I'll never go back!
Alex Dunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2002, 02:10 PM   #4
_redone_
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 224
hehe....Ive ran into the "bad cable" problem once before....and spent hours
trying to figure out whats wrong..that one will get ya...

Usually software will come with your capture card, make sure thats installed
unless your using another NLE program already installed.

<<Don't go cheap! I got the good stuff now and I'll never go back!>>

this holds true...i used to have an old compUSA brand firewire card and always had problems...but then i bought my matrox and its been a breeze.
So brand may matter in some cases
__________________
Adam Lawrence
eatdrink Media
Las Vegas NV
www.eatdrinkmedia.com
Adam Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2002, 02:49 PM   #5
edNYC330
 
Posts: n/a
So what is considered the good stuff?

I spoke with B & H photo and they suggested the ADS PYRO Basic DV, I think I am going to give that one a try.

Any other cards I should look at?

Thanks!!

Ed
  Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2002, 02:55 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 202
That one is fine. But I wouldn't go with anything less. And regarding that comment, I was actually referring to the cable. There are several $12 cables out there, but believe it or not the $35 is noticeably better.
Alex Dunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2002, 03:21 PM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
This is from another forum:



The Problem: Cannot work DV camera in Windows XP because it keeps wanting
to load some freaking "AV/C Subunit driver."

The Cause:

Windows XP renames two (2) files in the C:\Windows\Inf directory. This is
a hidden directory, so make sure your folder options are set to view
hidden folders.

Find a file that starts with "Msdv.inf" it may have a ".1" or ".f1" at
then end and rename it simply "Msdv.inf"

Then do the same for "Msdv.pnf" Find a file that starts with "Msdv.pnf"
it too may have a ".1" or ".f1" at then end and rename it simply
"Msdv.pnf"


At 03:48 PM 7/20/2002, you wrote:
>Recently I had to reformat my hard drive and reinstall windows xp. When I
>connect my sony vx2000 to the firewire port (which is one of those TI ohci
>compliants) it doesn't recognize the camera. The XP new hardware wizard
>recognizes it as AV/C Subunit. Of course, under that "hardware type" it
>doesn't install.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2002, 06:09 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
I just purchased an Adaptec Duo card. Firewie and USB 2.0 on same card. Comes with some basic DVD authoring software for 85.00 US. I got it local, probably get it cheaper on the net.
Joe Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2002, 10:13 PM   #9
edNYC330
 
Posts: n/a
Making the changes to the two windows XP files solved the problem!

Thanks for the help!!

Ed
  Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:50 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network