Maxtor external hardrive failing to copy files??? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 9th, 2005, 08:35 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 144
Why Why Why???

Ok I have a Maxtor one touch 200gig external hard drive. Firewire/USB2.0. It is plugged in via firewire. For some reason it keeps getting stopped by my computer every once in a while when I am transfering files, or just doing something that it seems it can't handle. Is it because it is so big and it can't actually handle that many files, so it's a 200gig but I really should only be storing like 120gigs? Could it be related to my firewire card and just have a bad port? I have a western digital 80 gig and never have any problems with it. Now one thing I did do diffrent this time is I reformated it to NTFS instead of leaving it as fat32. I noticed fat 32 has a file size limit and I figured all my internal drives are NTFS, it would be better. Could that be my problem? Does NTFS not work well on an external? Or is just a bad HD? Either way I probably will be taking it back but I am in the middle of a project and it is really frustrating having to restart my computer every time it happens and about every 3 times I lose files and have to recapture the footage. I need help guys. Thanks!
__________________
Vlog On!
http://youtube.com/clintus
Clint Comer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2005, 03:19 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 607
You would probably get a reply if you moved this to the "Non-linear DV Editing on the PC" forum. This isn't really the best forum for questions about computers and computer hardware. This forum is more for "production tools" like tripods, tape and lighting equipment. You might also consider naming your thread something more specific than "Why Why Why???"
I wish I had an answer for your question but unfortunately I don't.
Rhett Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2005, 12:08 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 636
Are you getting Write Delay Failures? If so, there's a patch for this.
__________________
Realism, anyway, is never exactly the same as reality, and in the cinema it is of necessity faked. -- J-L G
Jim Lafferty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2005, 01:13 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 144
What is the name of this patch? How did you know this was what I/you needed?
__________________
Vlog On!
http://youtube.com/clintus
Clint Comer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2005, 06:51 AM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Have you tried using the USB port?

I've changed the thread title to something a bit more relavant.

Thanks,
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2005, 07:07 AM   #6
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
On the PC I would always go with USB2, it is better for a number
of reasons:

1. when daisy chaining firewire devices (especially a camera and harddisk) you can get dropped frames etc.

2. firewire needs drivers installed for such harddisks (USB does not)

3. firewire seems more "buggy" on some PC's

On the PC I would simply go with USB2, there is no real world
performance difference (I tested that myself with a Maxtor OneTouch
160 GB drive) between USB2 and firewire on Windows XP/PC.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2005, 09:13 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 636
<<<-- Originally posted by Clint Comer : What is the name of this patch? How did you know this was what I/you needed? -->>>

The name of the patch is "q329256_WXP_SP2_x86_ENU.exe".

I took a guess at your issue, as I'm not even sure what OS you're running (this is for XP).

I had similar problems recently, and someone directed me to the patch. Here's the knowledge base article describing the problem.

- jim
__________________
Realism, anyway, is never exactly the same as reality, and in the cinema it is of necessity faked. -- J-L G
Jim Lafferty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2005, 02:27 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 144
Does changing an external HD to NTFS matter? All of them seem to be formated fat 32 so it will work on all operating systems. But I reformated this one as soon as I got it. Could that be causing problems?
__________________
Vlog On!
http://youtube.com/clintus
Clint Comer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2005, 12:34 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 144
Could I be getting this error because it is trying to write caching on the disk? I noticed that my other 2 external drives, which I have had no problems with, have this turned off. The setting is Optimize for quick removal instead of performance which enables write caching. Anyone else have any issues with this?
__________________
Vlog On!
http://youtube.com/clintus
Clint Comer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2005, 04:47 AM   #10
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Both formatting as NTFS and caching should not really be a problem. My
external Maxtor OneTouch drive has NTFS and I'm pretty sure it has
caching as well (since they advertise it having a 8 MB cache, which would
be pointless if it is not being used).

You never did answer my or Ed's question whether you've tried the USB
port. This has solved all my problems I had with the Maxtor drive.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2005, 12:26 PM   #11
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ireland
Posts: 3
USB is a lot more reliable than Firewire for external drives. However, you should know that I experience problems recently capturing video to a Maxtor external drive. I was able to solve them by attaching the maxtor to my pc via firewire. I guess the USB and Firewire chips in the PC weren't able to sync the transfer correctly.
David Corley is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:04 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network