Capture problem... at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 20th, 2005, 09:04 PM   #1
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Capture problem...

Hello all,

I am new to desktop editing and this is the first problem I have had (so far)...

While I am capturing, every so ofter I get a small grid like pattern in my video...It is just a spit second flash,then every thing is going good until the next "flash...

It is not the whole picture,just small sections and it is so fast that you almost miss it....

I believe I am up to snuff on my computer requirements...I have upgraded to 1 gig of ram...I have a 200 gig external hardrive,firewire from the camera to the computer..There is firewire and USB2 from the computer to the hardrive... The camera is a GL2 and for now I am using windows moviemaker to capture while I am learning the ropes...

Any thoughts???


Bill Bailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2005, 10:40 PM   #2
Inner Circle
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
That small grid-like pattern might be dropouts in your video. You may hear weirdness in your audio too from audio dropouts(sounds very artificial, has annoying high frequency components; the whole dropout would be extremely brief). Audio dropouts are rarer.

Dropouts indicate a problem with the tape recording. Little dropouts can be fixed. Massive dropouts can also be fixed, although it would take a little time and be extremely annoying because your equipment should be working properly in the first place.

I would probably look at why your equipment isn't working right. It may be that the heads on dirty. A tape cleaner would fix that- follow the instructions carefully. Don't clean your camera with Q-tips, that will damage it from what I've read (the little lint things from Q-tips are bad).
Mixing different tape formulations is one of many causes of dropouts. It may be why you are getting them. Temperature changes while recording may also be the cause.

2- It could be an entirely different problem from dropouts. To see if it's dropouts, look at the pictures in that link.

3- Maybe it's the firewire cable??

4- Which program are you using to capture? Does it report dropped frames?
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2005, 04:49 AM   #3
RED Code Chef
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Glenn, he's using windows moviemaker. Do you happen to have any other
editing software? If so, try capturing with that. If not, try a demo version
of to see how capturing goes with that.

Rob Lohman,
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search for quick answers | Buy from the best: sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2005, 05:59 AM   #4
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks for the replies...

I will trythe headcleaning...I also have another program coming that should be here in a few days....After only using moviemaker a couple days I think we have progressed past that...LOL
Bill Bailey is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:57 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network