4GB DDR3 Dimms? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 24th, 2010, 05:26 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 334
4GB DDR3 Dimms?

My motherboard, has 6 DDR3 RAM slots, each has 2GB dimm occupying it giving me 12GB.

I would like to boost my RAM but have not yet found a motherboard with 12 RAM slots! Is it possible to find 4GB DDR3 dimms anywhere??? Is this how some people are managing to have a huge 24GB in there systems?

Thanks
Dan Burnap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2010, 08:55 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 81
Here's a list of 4GB DDR3 dimms at newegg, $80 and up.

Newegg.com - Desktop Memory,4GB,4gb ddr3
Allan Tabilas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2010, 10:38 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Posts: 936
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Burnap View Post
I would like to boost my RAM but have not yet found a motherboard with 12 RAM slots! Is it possible to find 4GB DDR3 dimms anywhere??? Is this how some people are managing to have a huge 24GB in there systems?
The only motherboards with 12 DIMM slots that you would be able to find at this point are server motherboards with dual CPU sockets.

Also, 4GB DDR3 DIMMs are available; in fact, many of those people who currently have 24GB of RAM spent upwards of $1,200 for the six DIMMs. That's nearly double what twelve 2GB DIMMs sold for at the time. But with today's falling prices, you can get 24GB worth of 4GB DDR3 DIMMs for about as much money as only 12GB worth of those same-sized DIMMs cost just a few months ago - in the vicinity of $500 to $600.
Randall Leong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2010, 02:14 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, CT (Home of EPSN)
Posts: 1,182
Dan, I'm curious as to what your motivation is for increasing the RAM beyond what you have?
What task do you hope to improve or expedite?
__________________
Paul Cascio
www.pictureframingschool.com
Paul Cascio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2010, 04:04 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 334
Thanks for the replies Gents. I am hoping to improve my Adobe CS5 encode times. Harm Millard has suggested I run the CS5 Benchmark program which I will do. Not wishing to mix two posts but its either a ram upgrade or upgrade my i7 920
Dan Burnap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2010, 01:26 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
If you live near a MicroCenter, upgrading to an i7-950 is really pretty much a no-brainer if you want to cut encoding times. They sell them for $230 (as a loss leader to get you in the store). That's almost sure to be more cost effective than bumping up memory, and if you sell your old i7-920 on America's favorite auction site, you might even wind up making a little profit.
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:22 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network