Question about Sata cable at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 3rd, 2010, 10:40 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Rochester,NY USA
Posts: 282
Question about Sata cable

I am adding a couple of new hard drives. There are 2 cables connect to the HD, 1 is for power and the other RED cable (Sata cable) I want to buy the RED Sata cable with Y to it so that I can connect all the additional hd. I went on to Amazon and search, am not able to find anything like that. Can you point me to the right place to buy this Sata Y cable. Thank you.
Bruce Phung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2010, 11:46 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
that does not exist. you need a sata port per disk.
usually cheap card come with at least 4 sata connectors, high end cards have 2 controllers with 6 or 8 sata connectors.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2010, 11:52 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 517
You can't buy Y SATA cables. Each port only supports one drive. (Where as each older IDE port used to support two drives) The exception would be SATA port multipliers, if you existing SATA ports supported that feature. In your case just adding more SATA ports via an new SATA controller card is probably the simpler and cheaper solution.
__________________
For more information on these topics, check out my tech website at www.hd4pc.com
Mike McCarthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2010, 11:12 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Rochester,NY USA
Posts: 282
That is, Sata controller. Thanks a lot guys. My PC only got 3 sata port, my pc case has 6 slots total for HD. I want to fill them all with new hd.
Bruce Phung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2010, 07:32 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Rochester,NY USA
Posts: 282
One more question..

My dell PC power supply has 3 piggy back to power 3 hard drive. Right now it is all being used up. 1 is being used for C:/ drive and the other 2 piggy back used for 2 additional hard drive. I have bought Serial ATA dual power adapter cable. But the mobo don't have any slot to plug this cable into. How are you guys able to installed 4-6 hard drive? How did you power up your hard drive?


PS. Never mind. I am not going to upgrade the Dell power supply, just the purpose of adding more hard drive. I have plan to build my first PC some time with all the goodies.

Last edited by Bruce Phung; December 5th, 2010 at 02:06 PM.
Bruce Phung is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:52 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network