how do I know my CS5 is running 64bit? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 12th, 2011, 04:36 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 35
how do I know my CS5 is running 64bit?

This maybe a little bit of a NooB question but.. I'm running Windows 7 64bit and Adobe Premiere and After Effects CS5. I know both programs need 64 bit to run but all my plugin's and effects say 32, 16, and 8.

On my desktop, photoshop's button has "Photoshop x64" but Premiere and After Effects doesn't.
is there something I'm missing?

is it because my graphics card is not CUDA?

So, how do I know Permiere and AE are both running 64???
Kevin Li is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2011, 04:50 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 677
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Li View Post
...how do I know Permiere and AE are both running 64???
Because if it's running at all, it's running in 64 bit. There is no 32 bit version of Premiere Pro CS5 or After Effects CS5.
Bruce Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2011, 06:29 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
In addition to Bruce's info, PhotoShop CS5 does have both 32 bit and 64 bit versions and both versions get installed by default (at least on my machines), so the x64 icon is there to point to the 64 bit copy.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2011, 07:03 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 277
The 32, 16 and 8 bits labels you see regarding the effects refers to the color bit-depth they support and has nothing to do with Windows 32/64 bit.
Jon Shohet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2011, 08:02 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 35
Thanks all for the clarification!!!
Kevin Li is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:23 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network