Daisy Chaining Drives at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 11th, 2005, 03:30 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: orlando florida
Posts: 426
Daisy Chaining Drives

Hello,

Any problem with Daisy Chaining 4 External Firewire drives together ??
Using 6 foot cables (or less) to connect them..

I am working at a Place, where they have 4 external drives.. and somehow they were told they could only use 2 at one time.. Which I do believe is true..

Thanks,
Mike Moncrief
__________________
Mike Moncrief mikemoncrief@gmail.com
www.themikemoncrief.com
Mike Moncrief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2005, 03:55 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
In theory, Daisy Chaining is possible, up to a point. Much of the limitations depends on each NLE system however. Your mileage may vary. Some can handle more than others.
Richard Alvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2005, 04:09 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: orlando florida
Posts: 426
Hi,

Thanks for your response.. We are using vegas 6..Maybe this thread should be moved there???
Anyway i caan uderstand if you were using many drives with lots of cables, that you would stretch the limits of this technolgy..
But Is 4 drives stretching this limit??

Mike Moncrief
__________________
Mike Moncrief mikemoncrief@gmail.com
www.themikemoncrief.com
Mike Moncrief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2005, 04:36 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
Not familiar with Vegas (Avid myself). But Generally what happens is, at some point, you start to DROP frames, and have long seek times. So you may not know you've got a problem straight away. IF you have four drives loaded up with media, daisy chain them and do a quick edit. See how it responds. IF you have four empty drives, and want to start capturing and editing... well ask the VEGAS folks what their experiences are. When you plug them in, does it show up as ONE huge drive, or Four Seperate drives?
Richard Alvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2005, 05:08 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: orlando florida
Posts: 426
Hello,

They will show up as four separate drives.each having its own drive letter..
I could see if you were trying to access all fours drives at tha same time that it would drop frames.. But the media for each project is usually kept on one drive..
The folks who own this sytem came from the avid world.. and that is why they are not daisy cahaining more thn two.. they were told by Avid not to..

Anyway i am not near the system right now to try all four.. It will be tommorow.. Any others out there have experience with this??

Mike Moncrief
__________________
Mike Moncrief mikemoncrief@gmail.com
www.themikemoncrief.com
Mike Moncrief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2005, 08:27 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
Mike, you say the media for each project is kept on one drive... what's the value of daisy chaining? I mean What happens if the media is scattered over more than one drive, can Vegas handle it through single firewire stream?
Richard Alvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2005, 09:14 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: orlando florida
Posts: 426
Hello,

the value is, i can load up a project, maybe edit it, sweeten audio etc.. and then save it.. and then I can load up another project from another drive, without messing wilth power up, cabling etc..Also i can copy things from one drive to anothere easily.. Its just convinence..

Mike
__________________
Mike Moncrief mikemoncrief@gmail.com
www.themikemoncrief.com
Mike Moncrief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2005, 09:39 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York NY
Posts: 77
I have 3 external firewire drives connected by daisy chain and no problems with them. 1 maxtor, 1 western digital and one of my older 120gig drives in a HD enclosure.

I keep all of my short animations and project files on two of them and the 3rd one I use in case I have to move a project so I can work another.

My computer has 2 250gig drives for dedicated for video but some of the projects that I work on fill these up fast.
__________________
Stephen Jackson
RoaDDoggZ productions
www.roaddoggz.com
Stephen Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2005, 10:54 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 344
Maybe you could try Firewire 800.
Stephen Finton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:50 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network