Sata 3 / raid at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 7th, 2011, 11:31 PM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 477
Sata 3 / raid


If you have 2 or more SATA 3 HDD's (spinning platter type, not SSD's) and you RAID 0 them...would you gain any benefit in writing / reading speed than using SATA 1 or 2 HDD's in the same configuration?
Andrew Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2011, 07:06 AM   #2
Regular Crew
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alexandria KY
Posts: 48
Re: Sata 3 / raid

Sata 3 (600) only shows performance gains over Sata 300 (sata 2) when using more than 4 drives on a good controller.
newer chipsets may show better as they come out, and firmware is updated.

the best thing about the sata 600 is the 64meg cache. if buying new why would you not buy them..

sata150 (sata1) should not be a consideration at all other than back up.

Scott Chichelli is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:36 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network