New PC Motherboard at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 22nd, 2012, 07:15 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
New PC Motherboard

Looking at building a new PC using an Intel i7 3770K, I would welcome comments on this motherboard -

GIGABYTE - Motherboard - Socket 1155 - GA-Z77X-UD5H (rev. 1.0)

I intend using an SSD boot drive for OS only, with a separate drive for programs, and other drives for files. Not interested in Raid & am not a pro but a serious amateur shooting AVCHD in PAL with prosumer equipment, - Canon HF-S10 & editing in Vegas pro 11.

RonC.
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2012, 07:40 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Efland NC, USA
Posts: 2,315
Re: New PC Motherboard

I would go with this one. Higher performance all around. No one editing video ever said they bought too fast a computer. AVCHD demands a TON of processor power.

GIGABYTE - Motherboard - Socket 2011 - GA-X79-UD5 (rev. 1.0)
__________________
http://www.LandYachtMedia.com
Chris Medico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2012, 07:45 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Posts: 936
Re: New PC Motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Medico View Post
I would go with this one. Higher performance all around. No one editing video ever said they bought too fast a computer. AVCHD demands a TON of processor power.

GIGABYTE - Motherboard - Socket 2011 - GA-X79-UD5 (rev. 1.0)
Except that the CPU the OP planned to get will not even physically fit the CPU socket of that motherboard. Besides, if getting an X79 motherboard, the total system budget must be raised by at least $400 as the cheapest LGA 2011 CPU, the i7-3820, does not perform sufficiently better (and might perform worse) than the i7-3770K to justify the higher total cost of the higher-end CPU platform.
Randall Leong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2012, 07:11 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
Re: New PC Motherboard

Thanks Randall, - yes , I think this is the most practical solution as this seems to be a sweet spot for performance & price.
Any advice on Display cards (this Mbd. has built-in VGA), and RAM types or amount ? I was going to use 16g Corsair.

RonC.
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2012, 11:32 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,385
Re: New PC Motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Cooper View Post
Any advice on Display cards (this Mbd. has built-in VGA), and RAM types or amount ? I was going to use 16g Corsair.

RonC.
I strongly recommend the http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00653OOPS/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00653OOPS&linkCode=as2&tag=sareesh-20 for 10-bit monitoring and some solid firepower.

RAM? For your setup 8 GB should be fine, but no harm in going to 12, 16 or 24 GB.
__________________
Get the Free Comprehensive Guide to Rigging ANY Camera - one guide to rig them all - DSLRs to the Arri Alexa.
Sareesh Sudhakaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2012, 10:56 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
Re: New PC Motherboard

Thanks Sareesh, but is there a similar card which has HDMI out as well and I only need two monitor outs ?

RonC.
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2012, 02:10 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,385
Re: New PC Motherboard

Nothing at this price point for 10-bit, afaik...but then again, if you don't want 10-bit there's no point worrying about that.

I haven't used this personally, but for 8-bit dual monitoring this one should work great:http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004YJBMB4/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B004YJBMB4&linkCode=as2&tag=sareesh-20. It's also almost cheaper by half.

Most consumer grade GPUs handle 2 monitors via DVI, DisplayPort and HDMI. The problem is, not all of them have two HDMI ports. You could use them with a http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0017K6BDW/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B0017K6BDW&linkCode=as2&tag=sareesh-20 or http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000FIQABU/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B000FIQABU&linkCode=as2&tag=sareesh-20.
__________________
Get the Free Comprehensive Guide to Rigging ANY Camera - one guide to rig them all - DSLRs to the Arri Alexa.
Sareesh Sudhakaran is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network