DVCAM transfers at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 15th, 2005, 03:26 AM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
DVCAM transfers

Hello everybody,

I recently got hold on a Sony DSR-250 camcorder, wich has the possibilty to record in DV and DVCAM format.
The question:
Is it possible to transfer the data in DVCAM format to a PC, edit it in a NLE like pinnacle studio or adobe premiere, then transfer the edited data in losless format back to a blank DVCAM tape on the Sony camcorder?

I do know, that it is possible to do a digital transfer via the 1394-interface on the camera to a PC.

Thanx in advance

Kind regards,

Marco Wongso
Capelle a/d IJssel, Netherlands
Marco Wongso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2005, 09:59 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
Yes, this should be completely possible. DVCAM is functionally identical to regular DV. In other words, the data stream over firewire is no different, and your software won't even know that you're using DVCAM instead of DV. The only difference is in how the data is written on the tape itself, and the camera handles all that internally.

So just set your NLE software as though you're working with regular DV, and choose DVCAM recording in the camera menus and you're good to go.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2005, 10:19 AM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Thanx

Boyd,

Thanx for your answer. But there is stll some uncertainty about recording the edited digital data back to the camcorder on a blank tape. Do you think this is possible? And without any quality degradation?

Thanx in advance,

Regards

Marco
Marco Wongso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2005, 11:57 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
There isn't any quality degradation. It's digital so you don't have issues of generation loss like an analog tape.

Applying effects or making other changes to the video when you edit *might* affect the quality, but that's a separate issue. Whatever you have inside the computer will be transfered digitally over firewire to the camera and recorded to tape. The 1's and 0's will be the same on the tape as they are in the computer.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2005, 03:58 AM   #5
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Many thanx

Hi Boyd,

That's exactly what I wanted to know.
Thanx again for your time and expertise.
I really appreciate!

Regards & Blessings!

Marco
Marco Wongso is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:09 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network