Duration of a still in Premiere-HELP! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 25th, 2002, 08:50 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 39
Duration of a still in Premiere-HELP!

Hello All,

I have one frame of video that I have captured and want the duration in the timeline to last 10-15 seconds or so. When I capture the single frame and try to change the duration property it will only let me make it like 4 seconds or so. I have tried taking the 4 second clip and repeating it 4 times or so but everytime another copy of the clip comes up in the timline, I see a shift! Any suggestions? Thanks so much for your help!
SammyLeopold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2002, 09:35 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
This is actually very easy. Drag the clip to the timeline and right-
click on it. Then select 'Speed' or 'Duration' to change its length.

That's all there is to it.

Hope this helps!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2002, 06:00 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 39
Thanks Rob,

Unfortunatley I have tried that, and no matter how long of a duration I enter, it on comes out to like 3-4 seconds?

-SL
SammyLeopold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2002, 05:34 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Scotland UK
Posts: 63
How about exporting the frame as a still - changing the still import preferences to make the duration 10 seconds and importing in again?

Ross
Ross Milligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2002, 06:54 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 484
Duration of a still in Premiere-HELP!

You might also try exporting your three second still as an avi, then bring it back and play it at 25%, or whatever fills your time gap.
Just for the record, you are giving the image enough free space on the right to allow it to expand to the duration you set?

David Hurdon
David Hurdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2002, 07:12 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 730
this may sound stupid but...

umm copy and paste the same picture together to make it longer??

kermie
Zac Stein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2002, 07:47 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 484
Duration of a still in Premiere-HELP!

You might also try exporting your three second still as an avi, then bring it back and play it at 25%, or whatever fills your time gap.
Just for the record, you are giving the image enough free space on the right to allow it to expand to the duration you set?

David Hurdon
David Hurdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2002, 09:25 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 301
I did what the gentleman above suggested. I had a single shot that I wanted to last and I copied, and cut-and-pasted it side-by-side. It worked pretty good.

I must be honest and say I've never tried the 'right click' thing. I'll have to try that too.
__________________
Mark Moore
Sugar Free Productions
Mark Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2002, 09:57 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 39
Ross,

You suggestion worked perfectly! Thanks! Kermie, I already tried what you suggested and there was a flicker with a background image everytime a new copy came up in the time line! David, I tried that previously as well and as I mentioned whatever I tried it would only let me extened my 1 frame clip, to 3-4 seconds, even when I changed the speed to 1%. It seems to me that some solutions work on some people's PCs and not on others? Anyway, thanks everyone for your input!

-SL
SammyLeopold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2002, 05:00 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Scotland UK
Posts: 63
I'm shocked that I got something right :-) you've made my day...

Ross
Ross Milligan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:23 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network