How Do I Set Up RAID? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 29th, 2005, 02:10 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
How Do I Set Up RAID?

I have a Dell Precision 670 Workstation that comes configured for RAID if I choose. I am running four (4) internal 250 gig 16 mb buffer 133 EIDE hard drives, one (1) 250 gig 16 MB buffer SATA 150 (besides my 40 gig SATA system drive).

How do I configure this for RAID? Just set it and forget it in the BIOS?
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2005, 05:41 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 230
this might help:

http://www.tomshardware.com/howto/20010906/index.html
Matt Brabender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2005, 08:59 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
Thanks!

Thank you for the link but it still has me scratching my head. I was hoping for somebody with a system close to mine who has the RAID controller already installed.
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2005, 10:01 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 241
Hugh,
If the Dell is configured for RAID setup, there should be some Raid management software in there somewhere. My mobo came with it on the setup CD. It allows you to choose the drives and RAID type (0,1, etc.).
Maybe need to download it from Dell?
Hope this helps.
Ken
Ken Plotin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2005, 01:48 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
Or can I set it up via the BIOS? I want RAID 1 right? Not the redundant one?
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2005, 04:57 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
RAID 0 is the striped array for faster performance. RAID 1 is the redundent storage array for greater security.
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2005, 01:33 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
Can I set up for RAID 0 after I've already captured clips or do I have to set it up before capturing clips? Also, how does that affect the way I set up my scratch disks in Premirere Pro 1.5?
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2005, 02:25 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh DiMauro
Can I set up for RAID 0 after I've already captured clips or do I have to set it up before capturing clips?
Since RAID 0 stripes data across two or more drives, I don't think that you can set up such an array with existing data on the hard drives (well, you could, but I think you would lose that data).

As for scratch disks and Premiere, the RAID 0 array is seen by the OS as a single hard drive, so nothing special is required in that regards.
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2005, 02:59 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Odense, Denmark
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christopher Lefchik
Since RAID 0 stripes data across two or more drives, I don't think that you can set up such an array with existing data on the hard drives (well, you could, but I think you would lose that data).
You are absolutely right. You will have to format the drives after the RAID setup.

Mark
__________________
Carpe Noctem
Mark Olsen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:41 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network