Editing DVCPro50 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 6th, 2005, 09:21 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 134
Editing DVCPro50

Hey everyone,

Got a project coming in that was shot on DVCPRO50 that needs to be edited, which happily forces me to upgrade my capabilities.

How does this format differ from DV/DVCAM/DVCPRO in the eyes of an NLE? I work in Premiere Pro 1.0, will it support DVCPRO50? When i run a capture app (scenlayzer), will it capture at the DVCPRO50 data rate?

Thanks
~Mike
Mike Rinkunas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2005, 11:21 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
the only difference is this codec uses a less compressed video (50mb/sec instead 25mb/sec), so results are better.
obviously, size of files will increase by a factor of 2 and you will not be able to play or record to DV firewire.
it is nice even for DV when you want to make sure that post processing will not degrade too much the video.Mainconcept is providing a codec that works under premiere.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2005, 11:57 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 134
Giroud,

I'm lost here: "and you will not be able to play or record to DV firewire."

so you can't do previews or send to tape?

~Mike
Mike Rinkunas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2005, 02:15 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
As soon as you are working with a different codec than the one you get in your video equipement (DV, HDV or other) your video cannnot go back to where it comes from without reconverting.
You can capture DV from camera to PC and edit with any codec, but if you need to store it back to DV tape, it must be converted to DV.
Same for DVCPro50.
If you get a VCR able to read/write this format, there is no problem, but if you want to store the result to DV (or VHS using the DV to analog conversion of your VCR) you will need to convert back to DV codec.
For preview, as long as you stay on the PC, you can preview on the PC monitor.
Sometimes the codec is so slow, that even preview could be a problem (think about uncompressed HD resolution that can not be played smoothly even on a fast pentium)
the need to work under codecs with higher specs than the recorded one is found in intensive calculation on video (filters, color correction, keying) that can rapidly decrease the quality of the video, well under the quality expected for the same codec.
Example, in HDV, cineform is using a codec that far exceed the specs of HDV, to allow editing without any loss. but the result itself is not transferrable back to HDV without reconversion. Most of time this is managed transparently.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:12 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network