Anti-shake software for AVID, Premiere or Vegas systems? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 17th, 2005, 07:32 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1,892
Anti-shake software for AVID, Premiere or Vegas systems?

What are some top choices of anti-shake/vibration software for AVID, Premiere or Vegas systems?
James Emory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2005, 07:04 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 1,241
For those, I do not know. I have used this once.

Deshaker

It is a VirtualDub plugin.
George Ellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2005, 07:54 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
avid comes with an 'image stabiliazation' in the effects. You pick an area to 'stabilize' and the image is resized to keep it stable.
Richard Alvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2005, 12:22 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: York, England
Posts: 502
I have tried several of the available stabilisers for Premiere over the years, e.g. Dynapel Steadyhand, The Huber stabiliser, Digi-Studio, but I am convinced that the best by far is Steadymove Pro, from:

http://www.2d3.com/jsp/products/prod...jsp?product=11

Premiere pro incudes a basic version of this plug-in as standard - look for it on the CD.

Steadyhand is probably the next best.
Alan Craven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2005, 03:41 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
Steadyhand is horrible--the options are silm, and results are poor. I use it as a force render.
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2005, 09:21 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Estonia
Posts: 214
SteadyMove is extremely good. Give it a try!
Georg Liigand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2005, 06:59 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DuPont, Wa
Posts: 325
The one that works with all NLE's is "CutTheCaffieneBeforeYouShoot TripodUp Version 2.0"

:) Steadymove comes with Premiere PRo and you can upgrade to the full version for some amount of money.. I've never really been impressed with the anti-shake stuff personally, I just try to shake during production..:)
Pat Sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2005, 06:52 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Duluth GA
Posts: 238
Does anyone knows any plugin for Vegas?
Eniola Akintoye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2006, 02:45 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Duluth GA
Posts: 238
Uhmmmmm, can anyone please state some Vegas steadyshot softwares out there?
Eniola Akintoye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2006, 03:41 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: vancouver
Posts: 310
shaking is an art.... if u dont want the shake..get a tripod or a steadicam rig...
Saturnin Kondratiew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2006, 12:04 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
VISAR is super advanced stabilization software created by JPL NASA, anyone in Pasadena, CA could ask for permission to use the software at JPL HQ.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2006, 10:48 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1,892
That SteadyMove software is absolutely kick ass, especially with shaky video due to wind, etc.!
James Emory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2006, 08:39 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1,892
If you have never seen how it works behind the scenes this is a demo of how Steadimove and probably other stabilization software does it.

The software basically places your video on a virtual gimbal to adjust the X, Y and Z axes. You ordinarily wouldn't see the borders because it performs a slight push or zoom to crop out the border as it corrects for X,Y or Z axes motion. This correction looks as though a slight zoom has been added to your footage to hide the border. When viewing, open your player to it's largest frame to see the dramatic correction taking place. There is a setting to reduce that zoom effect but more cropping is applied to offset it. To see the smooth result of this demo, simply mask the edges with a piece paper so you can't see the border or just cup your hand and look through the hole, like a monocular, to see how stable the image really is. You can do this in Steadimove with your footage by choosing none as the edge handling value.


How it works
http://161.58.78.36/asx/dvinfo/produ...LIZERFRAME.asx

Last edited by James Emory; January 10th, 2006 at 10:42 PM.
James Emory is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network