Can PC fry firewire port? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 14th, 2005, 10:08 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver Island, BC, Canada
Posts: 27
Can PC fry firewire port?

Our company uses two PC's to edit and we've had the FX1 we use firewire port fry twice. Could this possibly be a PC problem or is most definetly a camera problem?

Thanks
__________________
Jamie Francis
Double or Nothing Productions
http://www.francisbros.com
Jamie Francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2005, 11:38 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 230
I didn't think the PC sent any power through the firewire cable to the camera, and if that is right, then it's not possible to fry the port on the camera.
So I'd say it could be either a common problem with the camera or it might be the cables are causing damage to the ports.
Matt Brabender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2005, 02:12 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Enumclaw, WA
Posts: 69
If the firewire port your going to is a 6pin (versus the 4pin like on your camera) than I would blame the computer, or more importantly the firewire card. The 6pin firewire port (IEEE1394) can output a certain amount of voltage (think its 30). Its possible that the cable is bad, but Ive never had that happen. I have fried three cameras myself and had to ship them in to get the internal part replaced. All the times I fried them was usually from frustration about something or in a hurry and would power on and off the camera too quickly, or going from vcr mode to camera mode and back too quickly. (youd think I would learn quicker) I asked quite a few people why exactly this happens, but with know real knowledge. I anyone knows please chime in. I have had a firewire card go bad on me but it was an off brand, its defiantly worth investing in good cables and name brand firewire interface. So the sure way to avoid blown firewire, - connect to a 4pin, or take it slow.
Jacob Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2005, 04:26 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
yes, for sure.
The firewire on some asus port is known to fry easily any device you could plug in it.
Additionally , i do not recommend to plug device live. do it when at least one device is powered off.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:32 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network