Scenalyzer Batch Capture Workflow at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 16th, 2005, 07:29 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 404
Scenalyzer Batch Capture Workflow

Does anybody know if I can use Scenalyzer to set in points and out points on clips for later batch capturing while watching my footage on my TV? This was quite easy with Premiere Pro, (firewire preview), but now I need to capture 4 channels of audio so I have to use Scenalyzer. Watching the footage on TV is essential. Does anybody know of a way to use Premiere to create the capture log and then import it into Scenalyzer? Thanks.

Kevin
Kevin Janisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2005, 07:46 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Not that this answers your question, but Scenalyzer is great for breaking up footage into scenes/clips. If editing DV, just buy an extra hard drive and capture everything from the tape.

Scenalyzer can break up scenes/clips by date/time changes on the tape (you need to set the date in camera) and also optically for times when date/time doesn't work (i.e. not DV).
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2005, 09:50 PM   #3
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You can do it in a roundabout way. You need to do a quick scan of the tape in Scenalzyer which will give you a list of all the different sections of the tape. You can then batch capture the desired sections. You can even combine multiple sections into a single "section". It's a roundabout way but it does work. I, too, would like the ability to manually enter start/stop timecodes for capturing in Scenalyzer.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2005, 03:42 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 404
Yeah, you would think something so basic and simplistic would be a given, but I guess not. I've actually emailed scenalyzer asking them this very question weeks ago with no reply.

Glen, thanks for the tip, but when it comes time, I will have 50+ tapes to go through and capturing all of them in their entirety is not an option.
Kevin Janisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2005, 12:10 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Carlsbad CA
Posts: 1,132
outpost.com(fry's) has seagate 300gb drives for $100 each after rebates... so for $200 you could just about cover 50 hours of footage, and you won't have to spend any time setting in/out points... i think that scenealyzer can automatically split on scene detection, which could also help that process.

let it capture in the background, while you spend your time making $$$ instead :-)
Dan Euritt is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:57 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network