Quick 1 megapixel DV hardware n00b question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 17th, 2002, 04:17 PM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 436
Quick 1 megapixel DV hardware n00b question

Hey. Well I am an old school vid student who is used to editing with a linear reel to reel and video toaster effects. I took a 4 year haitus from video for college but am now going to have a film minor in the next year and hope to go to film school in the next 2 years. ANYWAYS, I am purchasing a sony 1 megapixel DV camcorder and am planning on buying a P4 2.4 gigahertz, with 256 meg RDram and 120 gig hard drive and was curious if this was enough processor and harware strength to easily edit uncompressed DV from my sony camcorder on Adobe Premiere 6.5 which I've been fooling around with the past few months? Please don't suggest that I go MAC because I need the compatibility of a pc for all the software I already have not to mention, I'm just negatively biased towards macs in general :) Thanks for input! -Bryan

-Also, is it possible to hook up a second computer monitor to just view the preview project from Adobe premiere as I edit? Is this a matter of just getting a special video card or more of having to have the right program to go along with a special vid card? Thanks again!
Bryan Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2002, 04:45 PM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,736
Images: 513
Hi Bryan,

DV isn't uncompressed -- an important thing to understand. It is compressed at a 5:1 ratio in the camera. As long as you're moving the video to your PC over a FireWire connection, you won't have to worry about any further compression.

Your system is more than adequate for editing DV, but you'll need a second hard drive dedicated to video editing/storage only. Be sure it spins at 5400rpm at least. Another 120gb drive should give you more than nine hours of DV capacity.

It's always best to monitor your DV with an NTSC video monitor, not another computer monitor. For that, you'll need a video card with analog video output. Hope this helps,

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2002, 06:18 PM   #3
Posts: n/a
Hey Bryan,
Sounds like you've got a good base of knowledge to get started. I personally would suggest going for at least 512 MB of RAM, even a gig if you can afford it. Other than that, it looks like you're making a good purchase decision (I, personally, would go with a Mac for video, but I can see your need/desire for a PC).
Good luck!
  Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2002, 06:22 PM   #4
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,929
I second that on the 512 MB RAM. 256 is a little low these days. Also, it never hurts to have more hard drive space, so 120 GB hard drive should suffice for now, make sure your computer has another drive bay to add another drive down the road.

As for your dual monitor setup, you just need a video card that supports two monitors (and has lots of Video RAM). All new versions of Windows support dual monitors. While you're at it, make sure your new video card can record from a TV or cable line-in that turns your computer into a TiVo-like hard drive recorder, and say goodbye to your clumsy VCR and those big, expensive, low-resolution analog VHS tapes.

Welcome to the digital revolution!
All the best,
Robert K S

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | The best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Robert Knecht Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2002, 05:54 PM   #5
Major Player
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 436
Sounds great, I'll go for either 512 or 1 gb or memory, and I plan to use my old 30 gig hd as another HD on my new computer to house all my programs and then use the 120 gig just for mp3's and dv. I checked out what vid card I need to get for dual monitor setup (it has 128 megs of vid memory). Thanks so much for the input! I can't wait to get all of this going in mid-january and start shooting and editing again!
Bryan Roberts is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:05 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network