Capturing on same firewire port at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 21st, 2005, 09:38 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 83
Capturing on same firewire port

Is it possible to use the two firewire port of pinnacle pro1 at the same time, Capturing from firewire DV camera connected to the firewire port of pro1 then saving it to the firewire harddisk connected to the 2nd firewire port of pinnacle pro-one?
Juan Dela Cruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2005, 10:05 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 169
I've not had a problem with this capturing from a PD150 to my firewire drive passing through a PCMCIA firewire card on my laptop. I wouldn't think it'd be a problem in your situation.
Jacob Ehrichs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2005, 11:24 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
if ur saying u want to capture from 2 sources at once, then no... u cant..
Ive tried.. numerous times with numerous applications.. the only around this is with a Canopus HW card, liek a Raptor RT, or Storm, wherby DVCapture (that application) callows up to 3 simultaneous captures..however using it in a daisy chain shoul post no problems
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2005, 04:48 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juan Dela Cruz
Is it possible to use the two firewire port of pinnacle pro1 at the same time, Capturing from firewire DV camera connected to the firewire port of pro1 then saving it to the firewire harddisk connected to the 2nd firewire port of pinnacle pro-one?
What you're asking is if FireWire signals can pass in different directions over two ports on a capture card, at the same time. One signal coming into the computer from a DV source, going to its internal harddrive and the other, carrying a return of the same signal, passing out to a peripheral harddrive.
Maybe-----depending on the nature of the components in the system. If when importing a signal over FireWire, you can export the signal back out to a video monitor or another camcorder/VCR from another one of the ports on the card, I'd think you could also send it to a peripheral harddrive. The problem might come in being able to control the outside HDD when the internal one was receiving the signal. Some systems might do it, but I wouldn't know about yours. I've never done this, but why don't you try it and report the results?
J. Stephen McDonald is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:17 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network