How do I get a clear frame grab? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 16th, 2003, 05:44 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 11
How do I get a clear frame grab?

I know this may seem like a basic question but I have never had to get a frame grab before. I am using Adobe Premiere 6.5. I tried using the STop Motion capture but can't get a clear picture I would assume due to interlacing. How do I "de-interlace" the still or video to get a clear still. I have after effects as well if this would help...

Thanks
John Puffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2003, 06:38 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 484
Frame Grab

File-Export-Frame will give you a still image. Ctl + M is the shortcut, although it doesn't work for me. There is also a still export function in Advanced Windows Media if I recall correctly, one in which you can pick a file type. I believe you can also set a default for the frame export in the project settings. I deinterlace in Photo Shop when I do it at all. It depends on whether the frame is staying in a video project or going out in the big world.
David Hurdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2003, 08:00 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 49
Actually, the shortcut for a frame grab is CTRL+SHIFT+M.
fargogogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2003, 08:15 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 484
Frame grab keyboard shortcut

fargogogo

That would explain why CTRL + M doesn't work for me. :)

David Hurdon
David Hurdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2003, 09:10 AM   #5
Capt. Quirk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of the woods in Georgia
Posts: 3,596
Just in case you may have overlooked the obvious, you need to have the desired frame under the timeline marker, cursor, or whatever it's called, ( I'm sick, and just too foggy to remember anything details clearly), then go to file-export-frame.
Keith
K. Forman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2003, 10:11 AM   #6
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: California
Posts: 1
Photoshop has a de-interlace filter which works great on captured frames.

Rich.
Rich Kennedy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:40 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network