Windows XP 32 vs 64 bit speed diff? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 28th, 2006, 02:53 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn / USA / Russia
Posts: 33
Windows XP 32 vs 64 bit speed diff?

Can anyone tell me if in x64 i would have more speed?
__________________
russian in new york | graphic designer | filmmaker | http://www.designkarma.com | Sony HDR-HC1
Timofei Youriev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2006, 05:01 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 1,241
Right up until you have a device driver that is not supported. The biggest issue is all the custom hardware that some editing systems have. There is a large possibility that there are no 64bit drivers. Officially, 64-bit XP does not 'exist' in the consumer market. There is no retail version yet (those that may disagree, OEM is not retail and the support model requires you to go to the OEM per MS.)

If you only have IEEE1394 and no special capture cards, etc., you might be able to get your editor running. It will be faster at some tasks, but slower at others (a 32-bit app must go through an extra layer of application interfaces to 'thunk', or change, the 32bit addresses to 64bit addresses). I know one of the guys who uses Avid Liquid has had success running on XP 64, and it seems faster, but there were other issues that made it 'annoying'.

64-bit Windows will be supported at the retail level in Vista, the next Microsoft OS.
George Ellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2006, 05:03 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn / USA / Russia
Posts: 33
Thank you.

Will Adobe Premiere/AE or Sony Vegas gain any speed with x64?
__________________
russian in new york | graphic designer | filmmaker | http://www.designkarma.com | Sony HDR-HC1
Timofei Youriev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2006, 10:34 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Litchfield Park, AZ (W/of Phoenix)
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timofei Youriev
Thank you.

Will Adobe Premiere/AE or Sony Vegas gain any speed with x64?
Adobe Premier Pro 2.0 is still a 32 bit app so it will not take advantage of 64 bit processing, in fact in my entire workflow, none of my apps will take advantage of 64 bit, they all work, however when I bring them up in the task manager they all come up as *32 which is compatability mode.

I'm running a new Dell that I picked up with x64 and as I type this, Norton Ghost is actually restoring my 32 bit XP Pro version back on to my machine. Don't belive the hype, it's only going to make some applications that can run in the 64 bit domain make a difference.

Miguel
__________________
Miguel Lombana
http://www.miguellombana.com & http://www.phoenixhamradio.com
Miguel Lombana is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:21 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network