Causes of framerate drop in capturing? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 10th, 2006, 05:27 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Causes of framerate drop in capturing?

If it were PC spec/issues related, please explain what the main causes of a drop in frame rate, during capturing (DV) would be.
Ben Boer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2006, 09:45 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
There can be many causes. Multi-tasking your computer during capture can cause dropped frames (don't mash a spreadsheet at the same time you capture). Badly fragmented hard drives can cause dropped frames. Those are two biggies.
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2006, 04:45 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Ridgeville, Ohio
Posts: 407
Make sure DMA is enabled on the capture drive.
__________________
Dave
David Kennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2006, 10:01 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 35
how do you enable DMA on captured drive?
David Ellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2006, 09:09 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Ridgeville, Ohio
Posts: 407
David,

DMA is enabled in BIOS, and is probably enabled by default on newer computers. Getting into BIOS is obscure on my Toshiba laptop - usually hit delete during boot-up.

Before pursuing this further, if you send me an email, I can get your address, and attach a small program that checks drive throughput for DV capturing. I don't see a way of sending attachments through the forum. That pgm will tell you if it's drive performance or something else.
__________________
Dave
David Kennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2006, 05:02 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
DMA can also be enabled/disabled in Windows. Windows will try to run the drive in DMA mode, but may drop down its speed if the drive is generating errors (to the PIO interface mode). This can happen easily with CD/DVD drives, since scratched CDs will generate errors.

To make sure Windows hasn't disabled DMA (or the fastest form of it that the drive supports):

Go to control panel
system
hardware tab
device manager
IDE ATA controllers- something like that
expand that branch out
get properties on one of the channels
go into the advanced tab
Read off the transfer rate mode.

Also do that for the other IDE channel (primary/secondary).

2- DMA in the BIOS will almost certainly be on, unless the computer is very old.

3- Are you capturing to an external hard drive? That can sometimes cause problems. Capturing to an internal drive will work in that case (usually).

DMA/PIO is not a problem for external drives.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:52 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network